France will impose a control obligation on all third-country nationals – .

France will impose a control obligation on all third-country nationals – .

French authorities have announced that in order to prevent the spread of the new COVID-19 Omicron variant, all third-country nationals will be subject to testing requirements before entering French territory.
According to a decree issued by the French government, from December 4, non-European travelers over the age of 12 will have to present a negative result of the COVID-19 test carried out within 48 hours before arrival to be authorized to enter La France.

Authorities have explained that the testing requirement applies to all third-country nationals, even those who have been fully vaccinated or recovered from the virus, reports

“Anyone aged twelve or over wishing to travel to the national territory from a foreign country must be provided with the result of a screening test or an examination carried out less than 48 hours before the trip. part of the decree reads.

Additionally, it has been noted that only PCR tests will be accepted, meaning that those who hold a negative rapid antigen test or any other test will be refused entry into France.

“The only antigenic tests that can be carried out are those allowing the detection of the N protein of SARS-CoV-2”, underlined the decree.

In addition to the testing requirement, third country nationals must also agree to undergo additional testing upon arrival in France.

Regarding arrivals from EU countries, the French authorities have announced that all nationals of the Member States and of Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Vatican City State and Switzerland can continue to enter France without restriction as long as they hold a valid vaccination or recovery certificate.

In contrast, travelers from the EU who do not hold either of the two certificates – a vaccination or recovery certificate – must show a negative result of the COVID-19 test carried out 24 hours before their arrival to be allowed to enter France.

In addition, strict rules will apply to anyone returning from areas affected by Omicron.

France has already banned all flights from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini due to the detection of the Omicron variant. This means that travelers from these regions cannot travel to France. Only French nationals are allowed to enter the country.

However, in order to avoid the spread of the new variant, all those returning to France after having stayed in one of the areas affected by Omicron must present a PCR test carried out within 48 hours or a rapid antigen test, which must be completed within 24 hours before entry.

>> EU urges member states to review essential travel restrictions daily due to COVID-19 variant Omicron


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here