Alabama, Michigan, Georgia and Cincinnati Fill Four-Team Squad – .

Alabama, Michigan, Georgia and Cincinnati Fill Four-Team Squad – .

After a resounding victory in the SEC 2021 Championship game on Saturday night, reigning national champion Alabama Crimson Tide once again jumped to the top of the field to become the No.1 seed in the college football playoffs as determined on Sunday by the CFP selection committee. The Crimson Tide (12-1) lead the field of four teams that will battle for this year’s national championship.

Michigan (12-1), which ended its best season in years by winning the 2021 Big Ten Championship game on Saturday night, retained second place in the CFP standings. After being the top-ranked team for most of the season, Georgia (12-1) was seeded third after losing to Alabama in the SEC title game.

The headline-grabbing team, however, is No.4 Cincinnati, who not only becomes the first Group-Five team in history to make the playoffs, but the first to have the opportunity to play for a. FBS national championship, period. The Bearcats (13-0), with two wins over their opponents from the Power Five this season (including Notre Dame No.5), are the only undefeated team to remain standing in the FBS for the playoffs.

The Fighting Irish (11-1), who as an independent did not play in a conference title game, placed just outside the field of the four-team playoffs, while the Ohio State (10-2) finished No. 6 in the CFP standings. although he did not play for the Big Ten title.

The Alabama No.1 will face No.4 Cincinnati in the Cotton Bowl semi-final, which will be held in Arlington, TX on Dec. 31 at 3:30 p.m. ET. Michigan’s No.2 and Georgia’s No.3 will also meet that day at the Orange Bowl, to be held in Miami Gardens, Fla., Around 7:30 p.m. The 2022 CFP National Championship is scheduled for Monday January 10 at Lucas. Oil stadium in Indianapolis.

January 10 National championship
title game Winners of the semi-finals
December 31st Cotton bowl
Arlington, Texas.
Semi final (1) Alabama contre (4) Cincinnati
December 31st Orange bowl
Miami Gardens, Florida
Semi final (2) Michigan v (3) Georgia

Alabama are back in the playoffs for the seventh time in the event’s eight-year history, and he enters this season’s edition as the defending champion. Georgia are making their second playoff appearance with their first coming at the end of the 2017 season.

Michigan and Cincinnati will each make their first-ever trip to the playoffs, becoming the 12th and 13th teams to win CFP spots. The Wolverines are playing for a national title for the first time since winning the 1998 Rose Bowl and winning the 1997 championship.

Alabama are the only team on the field to have won a CFP national championship or played more than two games in the event. Tide are 8-3 in the CFP with three national title wins, while the Dawgs are 1-1 in the event, ultimately losing the national title to Tide 26-23 in overtime in their only appearance.

Alabama haven’t faced Cincinnati on the grill since 1990; the Tide has been 5-0 against the Bearcats since 1908. Michigan and Georgia last met in 1965, a game the Dawgs won, and are 1-1 head to head with the Wolverines winning. their previous clash in 1957.

The college football playoff pitch is set, and the Cover 3 podcast gives instant reaction to every game, and more. Subscribe here for all the latest information and analysis on and off the pitch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here