Travel tips for 12 countries as borders begin to tighten – Spain, France, Dubai, Switzerland, United States – .

Travel tips for 12 countries as borders begin to tighten – Spain, France, Dubai, Switzerland, United States – .

Countries overseas took swift action to tighten rules and restrictions this week to protect against the Omicron variant.
The new strain of coronavirus was first detected in southern Africa and has been labeled a ‘variant of concern’ by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Many popular vacation hotspots have decided to tighten their borders despite scientists warning that it is still not clear whether the variant is more contagious.

WHO has called for the borders to remain open, noting that the variant has already been detected in many countries and that border closures often have a limited effect.

However, many countries are going against this advice and have started banning foreign travelers and reintroducing strict travel restrictions.

Here are the latest travel tips:


Tourists sunbathe in Benidorm in November

British travelers who are not fully vaccinated will not be able to travel to Spain due to concerns over the new Omicron variant.

All unvaccinated Britons and other EU residents will be banned from entering the country from Wednesday 1 December.

Meanwhile, those in “high-risk” areas will also be required to provide a negative covid test when visiting the popular tourist destination.

Spain has also imposed a mandatory 10-day quarantine for visitors from seven southern African countries.

Mandatory isolation applies to travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe who arrive in Spain directly or after stopovers in other countries.


Switzerland has announced that it will impose a 10-day quarantine on all arrivals from the UK in response to fears over the omicron variant of the coronavirus.

The country’s Federal Office of Public Health announced on Saturday that arrivals from the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Egypt and Malawi, as well as Great Britain, should test negative for Covid and self-test. isolate on arrival.

The Swiss Embassy tweeted: “UPDATE – The UK has been added to Switzerland’s list of at-risk countries. “

“When they board a plane and enter Switzerland, all people from the UK must test negative for Covid-19 and self-quarantine for 10 days. “


Italy will allow travelers to visit if they can provide a Covid-19 recovery and vaccination record.

Those entering Italy from the UK who are fully vaccinated will not need to self-isolate.

Visitors will need to complete the Passenger Tracking Form (EU PLF) before crossing the border and show a QR code to show your tour operator and border police.

Those who are not vaccinated will also need to complete the passenger tracking form (EU PLF) and to get a QR code. But travelers must inform the prevention service of the local health authority of their entry into Italy.


Visitors arriving from the UK will be allowed to enter France as long as they test negative for Covid-19.

However, restrictions are in place for people over 65 who must have received the third booster shot to be able to visit indoor venues.

The UK is currently on France’s orange list. France continues to push vaccinations and boosters.

Fully vaccinated travelers do not need an essential reason to travel to France and do not need to self-isolate upon arrival.

Fully vaccinated travelers no longer need to show proof of a negative test result before travel.


People visit Christmas market amid Austria’s novel coronavirus pandemic

Austria is currently blocked nationwide and hotels are closed to tourists

The lockdown has been in effect since November 22 and is expected to remain so at least until December 13.

After the current lockdown ends, rules requiring proof of full vaccination or recovery will again be in effect in Austria, along with mask requirements in many regions.


If you are fully vaccinated with a vaccine approved for use in the EU, you are exempt from quarantine upon arrival in Poland.

However, you must show proof of your COVID-19 vaccination at the border and 14 days must have passed since your last dose.


United Arab Emirates (Dubai and Abu Dhabi)

Residents, tourists and visitors traveling from or via the UK and arriving in Dubai and Abu Dhabi must have a negative COVID-19 PCR test before departure and present the certificate at check-in.

These must be taken no more than 72 hours before departure for arrivals in Dubai and no more than 48 hours before departure for arrivals in Abu Dhabi.

Travelers arriving in Abu Dhabi will also need to take a COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival.

Travelers arriving in Dubai may be required to undergo another COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival and will need to self-isolate while awaiting the result of the COVID-19 PCR test.

Did you know that you can keep up to date with the latest news by signing up to our daily newsletter?

We send out a daily morning and noon newsletter covering the latest headlines.

We also send out coronavirus updates at 5 p.m. on weekdays and a summary of the week’s must-see stories on Sunday afternoon.

Registration is simple, easy and free.

You can put your email address in the registration box above, click Subscribe and we’ll do the rest.

You can also subscribe and view the rest of our newsletters here.

United States

Fully vaccinated travelers do not need to be quarantined, but it is recommended that they be tested for viruses within 3-5 days of arriving in the United States.

Travelers who have not been fully vaccinated and who are authorized to travel to the United States under an exception must take a test within 3-5 days of arriving in the United States, self-quarantine for 7 days after arriving in the United States, even if your test is negative. , unless you have an exception and are fully immunized, if you stay 60 days or more.


Australian authorities have said they will delay plans to ease border restrictions by at least two weeks until December 15 after the country reported its fifth case of the Omicron variant.

Officials said the temporary hiatus will ensure Australia prepares for the new strain.

New South Wales and Victoria, as well as the nation’s capital, Canberra, have introduced a comprehensive 72-hour quarantine requirement for all international arrivals.


Japan had already taken action by declaring it would suspend the entry of all foreign visitors from around the world.

The move means Japan will reinstate border controls it relaxed earlier this month for short-term business visitors, students and foreign workers.


Israel has decided to ban entry to foreign nationals and use controversial contact tracing technology as part of its efforts to crack down on the variant.

The health ministry said in a statement that the country’s coronavirus cabinet had authorized a range of measures, including redlisted travel to 50 African countries, banning foreigners from entering and quarantining all. Israelis arriving from abroad.

He also endorsed the use of the controversial internal security agency Shin Bet’s phone surveillance technology to conduct contact tracing of people confirmed with the new Omicron variant of the coronavirus in Israel.


Morocco has announced that it will suspend all inbound flights for two weeks from Monday.

It is one of the most drastic in a growing series of travel restrictions imposed by nations around the world as they scramble to slow the spread of the variant.

Don’t miss the latest news from across Scotland and beyond – Sign up for our daily newsletter here .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here