date, time, favorites, finalists, how to watch Australia and betting odds – .

date, time, favorites, finalists, how to watch Australia and betting odds – .

One of the most prestigious individual awards in world football will be presented on Tuesday (AEDT) when the winners of the 2021 Men’s and Women’s Ballon d’Or are revealed.
Prices are returning after a year-long hiatus caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. A formal ceremony will take place in Paris and broadcast to a worldwide audience. The best young male player (Kopa Trophy) and the best male goalkeeper (Yashin Trophy) will also be rewarded.

Lionel Messi could win a record-breaking seventh Men’s Ballon d’Or, although Bayern Munich and Poland forward Robert Lewandowski is deemed deserving by many, especially after missing last year when the Ballon d’Or was won. striped.

Messi was the last player to win the award, taking the honor in 2019, and he and his eternal rival Cristiano Ronaldo have shared 11 of the last 12 Ballon d’Or trophies. Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric is the only man to break their duopoly, winning in 2018, but he is not among the 30 finalists in 2021. The first men’s Ballon d’Or was awarded in 1956 .

There are 20 nominees for the Women’s Ballon d’Or. Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema are among the leaders while Australia will be represented by Matildas star Sam Kerr. The latest winner – Megan Rapinoe in 2019 – is not a finalist, but there are three Olympic gold medalists from Canada and an American, Samantha Mewis, who is not likely to win given the stiff competition.

How to watch the 2021 Ballon d’Or in Australia?

The 2021 Ballon d’Or winners will be announced at a gala in Paris on Tuesday, November 30 (AEDT). The event will be broadcast live on Australian TV via SBS, while it can also be broadcast online via SBS and You Tube from L’Equipe.

The ceremony at the Théâtre du Châtelet will unveil the male and female winners of the Ballon d’Or, the Kopa Trophy (best young U-21) and the Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper).

There have been six editions (2010 to 015) in which the Ballon d’Or, managed by the French weekly France Football, was known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or after merging with the FIFA Player of the Year award. ‘year. FIFA broke up and launched the Best FIFA Football Awards from 2016 (awarded in January 2017).

Who will win the Ballon d’Or?

According to US sports betting DraftKings and Pointsbest and Canada’s Sports Interaction, this is essentially a two-horse race. Lionel Messi is the favorite at DraftKings and Sports Interaction, while Robert Lewandowski is a little favorite at Pointsbet.

With no slam dunk contenders this year, there has been a lot of talk in the media over the summer about the Chelsea and Italy midfielder. Jorginho potentially emerging as a surprise winner after his role in Italy’s victory at Euro 2021. Then that of Liverpool Mohamed Salah caused a stir in the media with his start to the 2021-22 Premier League season just as voters submitted their rankings in October.

But there seems to be a consensus that Messi’s first trophy with Argentina’s senior national team at the 2021 Copa America will tip the vote in his favor, even ahead of the prolific record-setting Lewandowski. Bundesliga goals in a single season and currently exceed the UEFA Champions League scorers list. Lewandowski has more goals in 2021 than Messi (64-41) and more club trophies (3-1). He could get the green light from voters given he was the frontrunner last year before the 2020 price was canceled.

CBS’s football analyst team, including 2013 Ballon d’Or runner-up Thierry Henry, believe Messi will win, although they would rather see others. Henry and Alex Scott were divided over the female award.

How is the voting for the Ballon d’Or going?

Voting for the men’s Ballon d’Or and Yashin Trophy ended on October 24. A panel of 180 journalists from around the world was invited to vote (via a secure messaging system) based on criteria including individual and team performance in 2021, talent and sportsmanship, and overall career of the player.

Around 40 to 50 women’s football journalists vote for the women’s Ballon d’Or, while 32 former men’s Ballon d’Or winners vote for the best men’s under-21 player (Kopa Trophy).

Each Ballon d’Or voter (men and women) gives their top five; Voters for the Kopa Trophy and the Yashin Trophy submit a top three. In each case, points are awarded for each placement and the player with the most points wins the prize.

The results of the vote will be published in the December 4 edition of the weekly France Football.

According to the editor-in-chief of France Football, the editorial staff of the weekly draws up the list of finalists before distributing it to voters.

Who are the Ballon d’Or finalists?

Here is the full list of applicants for the four different awards. There are 30 names for the male award, 20 for the female Ballon d’Or and 10 each for the Kopa and Yashin awards.

Ballon d’Or 2021 – Men

name Position club National team
César Azpilicueta DF Chelsea Spain
Nicolo Barella MF Inter Milan Italy
Karim Benzema FW Real Madrid France
Leonard Bonucci DF Juventus Italy
Giorgio Chiellini DF Juventus Italy
Kevin De Bruyne MF Manchester City Belgium
Ruben Dias DF Manchester City Portugal
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Bruno Fernandes MF Manchester United Portugal
Phil Foden FW Manchester City England
Erling Haaland FW Borussia Dortmund Norway
Jorginho MF Chelsea Italy
Harry Kane FW Tottenham Hotspur England
N’Golo Kanté MF Chelsea France
Simon kjaer DF AC Milan Denmark
Robert Lewandowski FW Bayern Munich Germany
Romelu Lukaku FW Chelsea Belgium
Riyad Mahrez FW Manchester City Algeria
Lautaro Martinez FW Inter Milan Argentine
Kylian Mbappé FW PSG France
Lionel Messi FW PSG Argentine
Luka Modric MF Real Madrid Croatia
Gérard Moreno FW Villarreal Spain
Mason frame MF Chelsea England
Neymar FW PSG Brazil
Pedro MF FC Barcelona Spain
Cristiano Ronaldo FW Manchester United Portugal
Mohamed Salah FW Liverpool Egypt
Rahim Sterling FW Manchester City England
Luis Suarez placeholder image FW Atletico Madrid Uruguay

Ballon d’Or 2021 – Women

name Position club National team
Stina Blackstenius FW BK likes Sweden
Kadidiatou Diani FW PSG France
Christiane Endler GK Olympic lyon Chili
Madeleine Eriksson DF Chelsea Sweden
Jessie Fleming MF Chelsea Canada
Pernille Harder FW Chelsea Denmark
Jennifer Hermoso FW FC Barcelona Spain
Marie-Antoinette Katoto FW PSG France
Sam Kerr FW Chelsea Australia
Fran Kirby FW Chelsea England
Ashley Laurent DF PSG Canada
Lieke Martens MF FC Barcelona Netherlands
Samantha Mewis MF NC Courage United States
Vivianne Miedema FW Arsenal Netherlands
Sandra Panos GK FC Barcelona Spain
Irène Paredès DF FC Barcelona Spain
Alexia putellas MF FC Barcelona Spain
Wendie Renard DF Olympic lyon France
Christine Sinclair FW Portland thorns Canada
Ellen Blanc FW Manchester City England

Finalists of the Kopa Trophy 2021

name Position club National team
Jude Bellingham MF Borussia Dortmund England
Jérémy Doku FW Rennes Belgium
Ryan Gravenberch MF Ajax Netherlands
Mason Greenwood FW Manchester United England
Nuno mendès DF PSG Portugal
Jamal Musiala MF Bayern Munich Germany
Pedro MF FC Barcelona Spain
Giovanni Reyna MF Borussia Dortmund United States
Bukayo Saka FW Arsenal England
Florian Wirtz MF Bayer Leverkusen Germany

2021 Yashin Trophy finalists

name Position club National team
Thibaut Courtois GK Real Madrid Belgium
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Ederson GK Manchester City Brazil
Samir Handanovic GK Inter Milan Slovenia
Emiliano Martinez GK Aston Villa Argentine
Edouard Mendy GK Chelsea Senegal
Keylor Navas GK PSG Costa Rica
Manuel Neuer GK Bayern Munich Germany
Jan Oblak GK Atletico Madrid Slovenia
Kasper Schmeichel GK Leicester City Denmark


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here