2021 Gotham Awards Winners List – Live Update – Deadline – .

2021 Gotham Awards Winners List – Live Update – Deadline – .

The Gotham Awards kicked off Monday night in Lower Manhattan, honoring the best independent films of 2021 with an in-person, Covid-tested ceremony at his longtime Cipriani Wall Street home. It’s a big deal as the first and first major live-action cinematic awards event at a time when the industry is struggling to come together. It can also be a pivotal time, as interesting films for adults are finally enjoying some box office success after a dismal year.

Maggie Gyllenhaal has already won twice tonight for Netflix’s The Lost Daughter, for Best Director and Best Screenplay.

Emilia Jones won the Breakthrough Performer Award for her lead role in Apple’s CODA, Drive my car, the winner of the Cannes screenplay and Japan’s submission to the international Oscar feature film race, won the award for best international film.

In the non-fiction categories, the Danish Oscar nomination, the animated film To flee, won the award for best documentary, while PBS Philly DA of Topic and Independent Lens won a new award, for Breakthrough Nonfiction Series.

lost girl et Rebecca Hall Who passed, also from Netflix, swept the top nominations, which were announced last month in 12 categories. In an interesting change from organizer Gotham Film & Media Institute (formerly IFP), actor awards are no longer defined by gender; the categories of Best Actress and Best Actor are now combined into the Outstanding Main Performance and Outstanding Supporting Performance categories with double the nominees – at 10, instead of five.

Tonight, in the category Outstanding Non-Gender Performance in a New Series, there were two winners: Thuso Mbedu for Amazon Studios’ The Underground Railroad and Ethan Hawke for Showtime’s The good Lord bird.

In the categories TV series, Netflix Squid game won his first US Grand Prix since his record-breaking launch on the streamer, tonight taking honors for Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes); star Li Jung-jae is also nominated for best performer in a new series.

“When I wrote this script 12 years ago in 2009, I did my best but nobody liked it – they said it was too violent, absurd, weird”, Squid gameHuwang Dong-hyuk creator said on stage when accepting the trophy. Once aired, he said, “it took less than 12 days to become the # 1 show on the planet.”

In the Breakthrough Series – Short Format category (less than 40 minutes), FX on Hulu’s Dogs Reservation won the award.

Gothams can be an indicator of the industry at the start of awards season and after the fall festival buzz. The best feature film of last year Gotham went to Nomadic country, which won the Oscar. (Other Gothams winners last year included Riz Ahmed as best actor for The sound of metal and Nicole Beharie as best actress for Miss Juneteenth.)

Films released from March 1 to December 31, 2021 and TV series from October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 were eligible for this year’s 31st edition. Budgets are capped at $ 35 million, which has knocked some interesting candidates out of contention, including Tic..tick… boom !, The more they fall, The French Dispatch and Macbeth’s tragedy.

The show also recognizes a range of independent talent with honorary awards, including Eamonn Bowles of Magnolia Pictures, Industry Tribute; Jane Campion (The power of the dog), the tribute to the directors; by netflix The more they fall distribution, Ensemble Hommage; Peter Dinklage (Cyrano) and Kristen Stewart (Spencer), Tributes to the performers; the late filmmaker / activist Kathleen Collins, First Prize Gotham Icon; and The Actors Fund, the Gotham Impact Salute.

Follow below as we update the winners as they are announced, along with other coverages from inside the site:


Breakthrough Director

Maggie Gyllenhaal for The Lost Girl (Netflix)

Revolutionary series (over 40 minutes)

Squid game
Kim Ji-yeon, Hwang Dong-hyu, executive producers (Netflix)

Revolutionary series (less than 40 minutes)

Dogs Reservation
Sterlin Harjo, Taika Waititi, creators; Taika Waititi, Sterlin Harjo, Garrett Basch, Executive Producers (FX)

Groundbreaking non-fiction series

Philly DA
Ted Passon, Yoni Brook, Nicole Salazar, creators; Dawn Porter, Sally Jo Fifer, Lois Vossen, Ryan Chanatry, Gena Konstantinakos, Jeff Seelbach, Patty Quillin, executive producers (Subject, Independent Focus, PBS)

Exceptional performance in a new series
(to attach)

Help Mbedu in The Underground Railroad (Amazon Studios)

Ethan Hawke dans The Good Lord Bird (Showtime)

Best Feature Documentary

To flee
Jonas Poher Rasmussen, director; Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Charlotte De La Gournerie, producers (Neon)

Best international feature film

Drive my car
Ryusuke Hamaguchi, director; Teruhisa Yamamoto, producer (Sideshow and Janus Films)

Best scenario

The lost girl
Maggie Gyllenhaal (Netflix)

Revolutionary interpreter

Emilia Jones in CODA (Apple)

Best feature

Exceptional lead performance

Exceptional support performance


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here