Kayla Harrison, Ray Cooper III each win $ 1 million, Claressa Shields loses – .

Kayla Harrison, Ray Cooper III each win $ 1 million, Claressa Shields loses – .

The Professional Fighters League officially counts all the champions of its 2021 season.

At PFL 10, the promotion topped their champions lightweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight, featherweight, welterweight and lightweight women’s, with the usual prize of $ 1 million to boot.

Additionally, the final card of this year’s class also saw two-time Olympic boxing champion Claressa Shields

Check out the full results and battle highlights below:

Lightweight: Raush Manfio def. Loik Radzabhov by unanimous decision (48-46, 48-46, 49-46)

In a savage and intense battle at the start of the rounds, Raush Manfio resumed the second part of the fight, crushing Loik Radzabhov with more volume on his feet to secure a unanimous decision and the title after 25 minutes.

Originally a substitute and a big underdog at the start of the tournament, the Brazilian beat favorites Anthony Pettis and Clay Collard, as well as Joilton Lutterbach, to become the surprising lightweight champion of the 2021 season.

Lightweight: Antonio Carlos Junior beat. Marthin Hamlet via Submission (Naked Rear Choke), Round 1 (3:49)

In the light heavyweight final, UFC veteran Antonio Carlos Junior won the title in the first round of his fight against Marthin Hamlet. After spending most of the time on the toes, the Brazilian injured his opponent with a right hand in the second part of the round, which led to an opening for a rear grip and a tight choke to the backless bit. soon after to secure the belt.

The 31-year-old has won victories over former PFL champion Emiliano Sordi and UFC veteran Tom Lawlor this season, as well as Vinny Magalhaes for a No Contest due to an accidental groin strike , but it was enough for ‘Shoeface’ to advance to the playoffs and ultimately become the light heavyweight champion this season.

Featherweight: Movlid Khaybulaev beat. Chris Wade via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45)

In a clever performance, Movlid Khaybulaev managed to always stay one step ahead of Chris Wade and became the new featherweight champion with a unanimous decision victory. After severing his opponent’s eyebrow deeply at the start of the fight, the Russian resorted to his superior fight to outdo the “Long Island Killer” until the final bell.

Khaybulaev’s championship win was a lot like the rest of his 2021 season in the tournament, where he picked up decision wins over Lazrar Stojadinovic, Lance Palmer and Brendan Loughnane in order to reach the final at PLF 10.

Heavyweight: Beat Bruno Cappellozza. Ante Delija by unanimous decision (49-45, 49-45, 49-46)

In a rematch and also the craziest fight of the night, Bruno Cappelozza and Ante Delija appeared to be one or two punches away from earning a TKO after getting badly injured in the first two rounds.

Once the dust settled and both athletes had to rely on their hearts to fight to the point of exhaustion, it was the Brazilian who emerged victorious after five rounds. Once again, Cappelozza beat Delija, but this time by unanimous decision, to win the heavyweight title and the coveted cash prize.

In his first fight of this season, Bruno knocked out Delija in just 40 seconds, a victory that was followed by more KO saves, against Muhammed DeReese and Jamelle Jones, until his relentless, belt-winning performance in the rematch to close the 2021 Heavyweight Tournament.

Lightweight Women: Abigail Montes Def. Claressa Shields by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

During the night’s special event, two-time Olympic boxing champion Claressa Shields met defeat in professional MMA for the first time in her career. After being overworked by Abigail Montes on the ground for most of the fight, the boxer gave up a split decision to the undefeated prospect that improved her record to a perfect 3-0.

On her MMA debut, Shields clinched a TKO victory over Brittney Elkin, in June 2021. Meanwhile. Montes picked up victories over Claudia Zamora and Teresita Plata on the regional circuit ahead of her promotional debut at PFL 10.

Welterweight: Ray Cooper III def. Magomed Magomedkerimov via KO (punches), Round 3 (3:02)

In a knockout victory on the return, Ray Cooper III won his second straight PFL Championship on the verge of defeat. In a rematch against Magomed Magomedkerimov, who beat the Hawaiian in the 2018 final, “Braddah Boy” caught up with his opponent in the third round to win his second tournament.

After being shaken in round three, Cooper III wobbled Magomed with a right hand, then finished it with a left curl moments later. The victory marked Ray’s first and only KO victory of the season, having defeated both Rory MacDonald and Nikolay Aleksakhin by unanimous decision and Jason Ponet via a submission that kicked off the 28-year-old 2021 campaign.

Lightweight Women: Kayla Harrison beat. Taylor Guardado by submission (armband). Round 2 (4:00)

Predictably, Kayla Harrison remains undefeated in MMA and scored her second PFL belt in a row. Heavy outsider Taylor Guardado managed to outlast the Olympic medalist for nearly two laps, but got stuck in a tight armband at the end of the second, leading to a bid victory and another check from a million dollars for the champion.

With another finish on her CV, Harrison ends her perfect PFL season without going the distance a single time in 2021. Prior to Guardado, Kayla had TKOs of both Genah Fabian and Mariana Morais, while subduing Cindy Dandois via an armband as well.

Other results:

Light heavy weight; Jordan Young beat. Omari Akhmedov via TKO (Punches). Round 3 (1:32)

Lightweight Women: Julia Budd def. Kaitlin Young via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Light: Don Madge def. Nathan Williams by submission (naked rear choke). Round 2 (2; 15)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here