How to easily clean and install macOS Monterey using the new Mac Erase option – .

0
21
How to easily clean and install macOS Monterey using the new Mac Erase option – .


Apple released macOS 12 Monterey today, and whenever a new operating system is released for the Mac, some users prefer to perform a clean install. This article explains how to perform a clean install of Monterey using a brand new option available on silicon powered Apple Macs and Intel Macs with a T2 security chip.
A clean install of macOS is often done to remove annoying quirks and weird behaviors that a Mac may have inherited over time, and can also help reclaim disk space caused by junk files left behind by third-party applications. However, even if none of these issues arose for you, sometimes it is nice to start from scratch for that ‘brand new Mac’ feeling, and then migrate your apps, documents, and data, either manually or by migrating. from a Time Machine backup. .

Clean installation of previous versions of macOS typically involves creating a bootable copy of macOS Installer on a flash drive or USB drive, then reformatting your drive before installing the bootable copy on your Mac, or ” use macOS Recovery to reinstall the Mac operating system via the Internet link. In Monterey, however, a third option has come into play on newer Macs that offers a very simple and straightforward way to erase your Mac without having to reinstall the operating system.

Following in the footsteps of the iPhone and iPad, Apple Silicon Macs and Intel Macs with T2 Security Chip (2017-2020 models) now have an “Erase All Content and Settings” option available in macOS Monterey. Since the storage is always encrypted on Mac systems with Apple Silicon or the T2 chip, the system is instantly and securely “wiped” by destroying the encryption keys.


Not only does this effectively erase all user data and user-installed apps from your Mac without reinstalling macOS, it also disconnects your Apple ID, removes your Touch ID fingerprints, purchases, and all Apple Wallet items, and disables Find My and Activation Lock, which makes it a lot easier to restore your Mac to factory settings like new.
This capability means you can simply download and install ‌macOS Monterey‌ on your current version of macOS when prompted, then select the new erase feature in Monterey, which will erase your Mac and leave the base macOS system intact. After you erase the Mac, it will bring up the setup wizard and be ready to be set up like new. You can then migrate your data manually or by using the migration option of the setup wizard. The following walkthrough details the steps involved.

  1. Before doing anything else save your data using Time Machine or your preferred backup method.
  2. In macOS, click the Apple symbol () in the menu bar and select System Preferences.
  3. Click on Software update in the preferences pane.
    macOS
  4. Allow the software update to ping the Apple servers, then click Update now to download the Monterey installer when it appears. You can continue to use your Mac while the installer is downloading. After the installer has downloaded, you will receive a prompt. Click to install the new version of macOS and wait for the installation to complete.
  5. Once your Mac has restarted in Monterey, click the button Apple symbol () in the menu bar and select System Preferences ….
  6. When the preferences pane appears, select System Preferences -> Erase All Content and Settings from the menu bar.
    macOS
  7. Enter your administrator password in the Clear Wizard dialog prompt and click Okay.
  8. Write down all settings, data, media, and other items that will be deleted. Click on To continue if you are sure.
    erase mac
  9. Click to sign out of your Apple ID‌, then click Clear all content and settings in the prompt to confirm.
    erase mac
  10. Let the erase process complete. Your Mac may restart several times during the process, after which you may be prompted to activate your Mac over Wi-Fi.
  11. When finished, you will see the message “hello” on your Mac screen, indicating that the setup wizard is ready. Follow the on-screen instructions and, if desired, choose to migrate your data from a Time Machine backup when the option appears.
    hello mac

That’s all we can say about it. Even if you’re not ready to install Monterey today, the new option makes it much more convenient to restore your Mac to factory settings, whether you just want to start over with your Mac in the future or plan to sell it or give it to another person.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here