10 women of the Saints in the England team to face France – .

10 women of the Saints in the England team to face France – .

The England women’s rugby team. Image: SWpix

Woman of Steel Jodie Cunningham and England Women’s top try scorer Amy Hardcastle are named alongside England captain Emily Rudge.

Leah Burke, Chantelle Crowl, Tara Jones, Beth Stott, Paige Travis, Vicky Whitfield and Rachael Woosey are the other Saints included after a triple winning season for St Helens.

Woosey could also make her England debut after impressing this season, especially in the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup final in June, where she scored a brace.
There are three other potential debutants with York duo Savannah Andrade and Castleford’s Olivia Wood and Emma Lumley.
Andrade – who left Bradford for York at the start of the season – is named to the England squad for the first time after a busy season of testing with the Knights.
Lumley was named to the squad to face Wales earlier in the season, but has yet to make her international debut while Wood is also in contention.
Head coach Craig Richards said: “I am delighted that we were able to name a host of new names in our squad to face France. The four potential debutants impressed me with their attitude and performance in the Betfred Women’s Super League and it really created a strong competition for places within the squad. Hopefully we will see at least two of them making their international debuts next weekend in Perpignan.
“This is another important step on the road to the Rugby Union World Cup and another great opportunity for the players to prove what they can do on the international stage. “
Effectif : S Andrade (York), C Beevers (Leeds), L Burke (St Helens), C Crowl (St Helens), J Cunningham (St Helens), H Dodd (Castleford), G Field (York), F Goldthorp ( Leeds), A Hardcastle (St Helens), S Hoyle (Huddersfield), T Jones (St Helens), E Lumley (Castleford), V Molyneux (Wigan), E Rudge (St Helens, capt), TJ Stanley (Castleford), B Stott (St Helens), P Travis (St Helens), V Whitfield (St Helens), O Wood (York), R Woosey (St Helens).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here