Refuse to wear a mask? Don’t come vote in some provinces, warns Elections Canada – .

Refuse to wear a mask? Don’t come vote in some provinces, warns Elections Canada – .

TORONTO – Some voters who show up at their polls without a mask or who refuse to wear a mask will be refused the ballot, warns Elections Canada.

In a statement, an Elections Canada spokesperson said anyone who refuses to wear a mask “will be refused entry to the polling station” in provinces and territories with an active indoor mask warrant.

Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon and Nunavut do not currently require residents to wear face masks. interior.

In these provinces, mandatory masks will still be applied in polling stations where “the landlord leasing space from Elections Canada” requires the mask to be worn.

In other provinces, those who refuse to wear a mask are encouraged to apply for a mail-in ballot. The deadline to apply is September 14 at 6 p.m. local time.

Voters who cannot wear a mask for medical reasons are also encouraged to vote by post, but will not be turned away from a polling station and will not be required to show proof of medical exemption, except schools in Alberta, where school boards require proof of exemption.

Elections Canada added that all election workers, candidates and candidate representatives “will be required to wear masks to set an example and maintain the safest possible environment for voters and workers.”

At the polling station, physical distancing requirements will apply. There will be disposable pencils and hand sanitizer.

Workers will be cleaning polling stations on a regular basis, so Elections Canada warns there could be “very minor” delays in voting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here