Weird ‘receiver kickback’ call costs Giants race against D-backs – .

0
14
Weird ‘receiver kickback’ call costs Giants race against D-backs – .


You never really know what you’re going to see at the stadium. Sometimes you will see something that you didn’t even know existed.
That was the case in the second inning Tuesday at Chase Field, when the baseball world re-entered the “catcher from the catcher.” Technically, it wasn’t a hesitation, but it was the word of the official Chase Field scorer. Before getting into the legal definition, take a look at the piece for yourself:

Curt Casali broke MLB rule 5.06 (b) (3) (E), which states that a “fielder deliberately touches a pitched ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place. on his person. The ball is in play, and the award is made from the runner’s position at the time the ball was touched. “

It was an absolutely weird game, and Casali and Giants manager Gabe Kapler both played as the first and second runners were moved from one base. Marble referee Chris Guccione made the appeal, and although he checked with the other three referees after hearing Kapler, he never nearly changed his mind.

The call ended up being important. Asdrubal Cabrera, who was at home plate during the “receiver’s pullback,” doubled right field to give the Diamondbacks a 3-0 lead. The long-distance runner was Madison Bumgarner, and he certainly wouldn’t have scored on the opening goal on Cabrera’s brace, who was stopped by Austin Slater before he hit the wall.

RELATED: Why Posey Won’t Face Bumgarner For The First Time As An Opponent

It was one of the weirdest streaks of the year, and it took a toll on the Giants as everyone tried to figure out what was going on.

Download and follow the Giants Talk podcast

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here