Residents of southern France face tighter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany – .

Residents of southern France face tighter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany – .

French residents of the regions of Occitanie, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Corsica and the French overseas territories of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, Saint-Martin and Saint- Bartholomew are subject to tighter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany from August 8.
The move was announced by the German Robert Koch Institute, which is the country’s research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, in its latest update on risk areas around the world.

According to the update, these regions of France will be listed in the list of high-risk areas, travelers whose, among others, must show proof of immunity to COVID-19 or negative COVID-19 test results.

This means that all travelers aged 12 and over must present a negative test certificate upon entry, vaccination or health certificate upon entry.

« In addition, when entering the Federal Republic of Germany after a stay in a foreign high-risk area or viral variant area, a special registration, verification and quarantine obligation must be observed.», Explains the RKI, adding that the quarantine should be carried out for ten days.

People vaccinated with any of the vaccines approved by German authorities for entry into the country, as well as those who have recovered from the virus, can avoid quarantine. Those who enter only with one test can end the quarantine period after five days if they test again and are negative.

>> Germany allows entry of travelers receiving 5 COVID-19 vaccines, including Covishield

The new measures against France follow advice from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control for travelers to avoid visiting a few regions of France. Several other countries in the EU and the Schengen area have already imposed stricter restrictions on travelers from that country, including Denmark and the Netherlands.

At the same time, alongside the south of France, the following third countries have been added to the list:

  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Iraq
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea (Democratic People’s Republic)
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • Burma
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Senegal
  • Tadjikistan
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobag0
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

In contrast, the Netherlands has been removed from the list of high risk areas, which means that travelers from this country are now exempt from the self-isolation requirement.

Currently, only Brazil and Uruguay are on the list of high risk areas, as no new virus variant areas have been added to the list since the last change.

Arrivals from these two countries must self-isolate for a period of 14 days upon arrival in Germany. A premature end of quarantine is generally not possible for these travelers.

>> Who can travel to Germany this summer and what are the rules


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here