Israel lifts travel bans to UK and South Africa and in orange – .

Israel lifts travel bans to UK and South Africa and in orange – .

Britain, South Africa, Russia and several other countries are set to be removed from the list of countries considered most at risk of coronavirus infection from August 16, after the coronavirus cabinet met on the matter on Sunday evening.

Israelis are not allowed to travel to these countries – also called “red” – without special permission from a dedicated government commission. Those who return must self-isolate for a minimum of seven days even if they are vaccinated or cured. At the moment, the list includes Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, Cyprus, Georgia, Great Britain, India, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, Russia, Spain, South Africa, Turkey and Uzbekistan.

The new list of banned countries is expected to include only Bulgaria, Brazil, Georgia, Mexico, Spain and Turkey.

To get to any of these locations, Israelis must complete an online form and receive special permission from the Exceptions Committee. The form is available here.

At the same time, from next Monday, all countries in the world, except for a selected group, will be placed under severe travel warning – or will turn orange. Unlike what happens with the Red Countries, Israelis are free to travel to these countries, but they are required to self-isolate upon return, regardless of their immunization status.

From August 15, only Hong Kong, Hungary, Taiwan, Moldova, New Zealand, China, Singapore and the Czech Republic will be considered “yellow countries”, which do not require a full quarantine.

“Countries that do not appear in one of these two categories are defined as ‘orange countries’ – countries at risk – and returnees will have to be totally isolated,” the health ministry said in a statement.

Vaccinated or recovered individuals returning from yellow countries are only required to take a PCR swab test upon return to the country and wait in quarantine until a negative test result is received or 24 hours have elapsed, whichever comes first.

Unvaccinated people should always be isolated when entering Israel, regardless of where they have traveled.

The list of countries and their status are updated periodically by the Ministry of Health based on morbidity data. An up-to-date list appears on the website of the Ministry of Health.

The new list of countries will come into effect on August 16 after the approval of the new criteria created by the ministry by the relevant Knesset committee.

Speaking to the Knesset’s Law and Constitution Committee, Public Health Chief Dr Sharon Alroy-Preis said the new country-specific lists released by the ministry have also yet to be approved by the coronavirus cabinet.

“The idea of ​​the new model is to identify the countries that are at very high risk for us, depending on whether they have variants that we don’t want to enter Israel, how much traffic is coming from there and what is the entry of. variants in Israel. should be, ”she also said.

“The model weighs all of these factors and creates a score,” she added. “The list has been reduced from 14 countries to six countries and if approved it will be presented to you next week. The aim is to know how to reduce travel to the minimum necessary and identify safer countries. ”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here