What abortion access looks like in the United States, in charts – .

0
14
What abortion access looks like in the United States, in charts – .


According to the Guttmacher Institute, an abortion rights research organization, states have also passed the most restrictions in a single year since 1973, when Roe v. Wade was decided. This year, many laws prohibit abortion at a certain point in pregnancy, for a specific reason or completely.

Texas law is one of the most extreme passed this legislative session: it prohibits abortion after detection of cardiac activity, typically around six weeks pregnant, making it the largest state to ban. the procedure even before many people know they are pregnant. It also allows individuals to sue doctors or anyone who helps someone get an abortion.

So far this year, 12 abortion bans have been enacted in nine states. However, the majority of restrictions are not currently in place, either because they have not yet entered into force or because they face legal challenges.

1. Arizona: Ban based on genetic defect

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Doug Ducey, a Republican, signed the bill on April 27.

What the law says?

It prohibits abortions if a fetus has or is suspected to have a genetic defect such as Down syndrome. Providers who terminate a pregnancy because of a fetal abnormality could face a felony charge and a prison sentence of up to two years. The only exceptions are in the case of a medical emergency or fatal fetal conditions.

The bill also requires that fetal remains be buried or cremated.

What is the status of the law?

The bill is expected to come into force in September, but Planned Parenthood said it is still exploring all legal options to protect access to care in the state.

2. Arkansas: Almost total ban on abortion

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Asa Hutchinson, a Republican, signed the bill on March 9.

What the law says?

It bans all abortion procedures in the state, unless the individual’s life is in danger. It does not allow exceptions for rape or incest. Anyone who performs or attempts to perform an abortion could be convicted of a felony and face up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $ 100,000.

Hutchinson admitted the bill was unconstitutional, but said he signed it because of his “overwhelming legislative support and my sincere, long-standing beliefs in life.”

What is the status of the law?

A federal district court blocked Arkansas law in July.

3. Montana: Ban abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy

When was the bill passed?

Governor Greg Gianforte, a Republican, signed the bill on April 26.

What the law says?

The bill bans abortion after 20 weeks gestation, citing that it would protect fetuses capable of feeling pain. However, medical organizations – including the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists – have stated that a fetus cannot feel pain until at least 24 weeks gestation.

What is the status of the law?

The ban will take effect in October. Planned Parenthood said it would protect Montana’s constitutional right to abortion, including defending patients in court.

4. Idaho: Ban abortions from six weeks pregnant

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Brad Little, a Republican, signed the bill on April 27.

What the law says?

It requires providers to perform ultrasound tests to check heart activity. If detected, an abortion can only be performed if a person’s life or physical health is in danger or in cases of rape or incest. Because heart activity can be detected as early as six weeks gestation, the law effectively prohibits abortion before most people realize they are pregnant.

What is the status of the law?

The bill will only come into force if a federal appeals court upholds a similar ban from another state. Planned Parenthood is considering taking legal action if a similar bill is confirmed.

5. Oklahoma: Ban abortions as early as six weeks pregnant

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Kevin Stitt, a Republican, signed the bill on April 26.

What the law says?

The law requires ultrasound checks for heart activity and prohibits abortion if detected. An abortion procedure is permitted to avoid “death or to avoid a serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function” to the individual, but not in cases of rape or incest.

What is the status of the law?

The law is expected to come into force in November; however, Planned Parenthood is “ready to take legal action to defend access to abortion in Oklahoma if necessary,” said Emily Wales, chief operating officer and general counsel for litigation at Planned Parenthood Great Plains.

6. Oklahoma: Almost Total Ban on Abortion

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Kevin Stitt, a Republican, signed the bill on April 26.

What the law says?

It prohibits all abortions in the state unless “necessary to prevent the death of the mother or to prevent a substantial or irreversible physical impairment of the mother which greatly increases the risk of death”, but not in cases of rape or incest. If a provider continues to perform abortion procedures, they could lose their medical license.

What is the status of the law?

The near-total ban will go into effect in November, but Planned Parenthood says it is exploring all legal options to protect Oklahoma patients.

7. Oklahoma: ban on “trigger”

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Kevin Stitt, a Republican, signed the bill on April 27.

What the law says?

The ban would ban abortion in the state if the Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade.

What is the status of the law?

It will be added to state law in November, but it will only take effect if Roe v. Wade falls. If the state enforced the ban, reproductive rights groups would likely sue.

8. South Carolina: Ban abortions from six weeks pregnant

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Henry McMaster, a Republican, signed the bill on February 18, making it the first state to pass an abortion ban this year.

What the law says?

It forces doctors to perform ultrasound scans to check for heart activity. If detected, an abortion can only be performed if the person’s life is in danger, to avoid irreversible bodily harm, or if the pregnancy was caused by rape or incest.

Those who continue to perform abortions could be charged with a felony, sentenced to two years in prison and fined $ 10,000 if found guilty. Abortion providers could also have their medical licenses revoked and be subject to civil lawsuits for damages.

What is the status of the law?

Planned Parenthood and the Center for Reproductive Rights filed a lawsuit, preventing the measure from taking effect.

9. South Dakota: Ban abortions if diagnosed with Down’s syndrome

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Kristi Noem, a Republican, signed the bill on March 25.

What the law says?

The measure bans abortion procedures when tests indicate that a fetus may have Down syndrome.

What is the status of the law?

The law entered into force in July.

10. Texas: Ban abortions from six weeks pregnant

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Greg Abbott, a Republican, signed the bill on May 19th.

What the law says?

It bans abortion once heart activity is detected, making it the largest state to ban abortions before many know they are pregnant. The law also prohibits state officials from enforcing the ban; instead, it allows anyone to sue an abortion provider or anyone who allegedly assisted someone with an abortion after the limit and to seek financial damages of up to $ 10,000 per defendant.

What is the status of the law?

The Center for Reproductive Rights, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, the American Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU of Texas, and several abortion providers in Texas, including Whole Woman’s Health, have filed a lawsuit to block the law before that it comes into force in September.

11. Texas: ban on “trigger”

When was the bill passed?

Abbott signed the bill on June 16.

What the law says?

The ban would ban abortion in the state if the Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade.

What is the status of the law?

It will be added to state law in September, but it will only come into effect if Roe v. Wade had to fall. If the state enforced the ban, reproductive rights groups would likely sue.

12. New Hampshire: Ban abortions after 24 weeks of pregnancy

When was the bill passed?

Gov. Chris Sununu, a Republican, signed a two-year state budget on June 25, which included a provision banning abortion at a certain point in pregnancy.

What the law says?

It prohibits abortions after 24 weeks of gestation, except in cases of danger to life or serious physical condition. The ban does not include any exceptions for rape or incest. Doctors who perform abortions beyond this point could face a felony charge and up to seven years in prison.

What is the status of the law?

The ban will take effect in January 2022.

As states step up efforts to restrict abortion rights this year, access to the procedure already varies widely across the country. Conservative lawmakers have significant leeway to regulate abortion in their states, and since Roe v. Wade, more than 1,300 abortion restrictions have been enacted.

Whether it’s forcing patients to undergo waiting periods or counseling the state, etc., these laws often make abortion more difficult and costly to obtain or totally out of reach without it. explicitly prohibit.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here