These are the Canucks Vancouver could lose in expansion NHL Draft – .

These are the Canucks Vancouver could lose in expansion NHL Draft – .

We now know which Vancouver Canucks will be up for grabs when the Seattle Kraken constitute their new club in the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft.

Under the rules of the expansion project, the Canucks were allowed to protect seven forwards, three defensemen and a goaltender. First and second year players and unsigned draft picks were automatically protected.

The list of protected players will come as no surprise to most fans, with the team’s top talent locked in and away from the division’s potential rival.

Read more:

The difficulties of expanding the NHL have changed with the Golden Knights and now with Kraken

Captain Bo Horvat, along with Elias Petterson, Brock Boeser, JT Miller, Tanner Pearson, Tyler Motte, Nate Schmidt, Tyler Myers, Oli Juolevi and goalkeeper Thatcher Demko have all been put on the protected list.

The story continues under the ad

Seattle NHL team name revealed

Seattle NHL team name revealed – July 23, 2020

Some Canucks veterans, however, could be on the chopping block, including Jay Beagle, Antoine Roussel, Loui Erikson and Alex Edler – who confirmed this week he’s pursuing free will.

Goalkeeper Braden Holtby is also unprotected, as are prospects Kole Lind and Lukas Jasek.

Read more:

Date and location revealed for Vancouver Canucks, Seattle Kraken’s first clash

The expansion draft will take place on Wednesday, July 21 starting at 5 p.m. ET

The Canucks and Kraken will meet for the first time in an exhibition game in Spokane on September 26.

Full list of unprotected Canucks in the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft:

The story continues under the ad
  • Sven Baertschi (F)
  • Justin Bailey (F)
  • Jay Beagle (F)
  • Travis Boyd (F)
  • Louis Eriksson (F)
  • Jonas Gadjovich (F)
  • Tyler Graovac (F)
  • Jayce Hawryluk (A)
  • Matthew Highmore (F)
  • Lukas Jasek (F)
  • Kole Lind (F)
  • Zack MacEwen (F)
  • Peter Palm (F)
  • Antoine Roussel (F)
  • Brandon Sutter (F)
  • Jimmy Vesey (F)
  • Jake Virtanen (F)
  • Madison Bowey (D)
  • Guillaume Brisebois (D)
  • Jalen Chatfield (D)
  • Alexandre Edler (D)
  • Travis Hamonic (D)
  • Brogan Rafferty (D)
  • Ashton Sautner (D)
  • Josh Teves (D)
  • Braden Holtby (G)

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here