Eoin Morgan captain as England players return for T20 series – .

Eoin Morgan captain as England players return for T20 series – .

Lewis Gregory of Somerset is included after performing well in ODI Series victory over Pakistan

England have named nine players who were forced to isolate themselves in the recent one-day streak with Pakistan in their T20 squad for the next series between the countries.

Eoin Morgan will be the captain of a team that includes Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler and Jason Roy, but Ben Stokes is rested.

Also included are some of the players who impressed in the ODI series, such as Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson.

The three-match series kicks off at Trent Bridge on Friday, July 16.

A Covid-19 outbreak in the England camp forced the entire top-notch squad into quarantine ahead of the ODI series, but the emergency replacements recorded a stunning 3-0 sweep.

Stokes, who rushed his return from finger surgery to lead the Dark Side and wore heavy bandages throughout, is not included for T20 games.

Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Sam Curran are among those who did not appear in the series.

Head coach Chris Silverwood will also skip the series for a family break, after cutting short to lead the team during the ODI series, leaving assistant Paul Collingwood in charge.

Collingwood was originally scheduled to do so in the ODI, but was among those sent into isolation.

“The success of the Royal London Series against Pakistan has shown the exciting depth of talent we have developed in white ball cricket,” said Silverwood.

“We have selected a T20 team that sees the return of many of our more experienced players after their period of isolation.

“Additionally, we have rewarded some of the players involved in winning the 50-over series with a selection that allows us to handle multi-format players as we prepare for the highly anticipated Test Series against India.

“I would like to express my thanks to Ben Stokes and the players for their efforts over the past week, as well as to the counties for their support in launching this series. ”

The England T20 team against Pakistan:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex – capitaine), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here