Emma McKeon explodes 51.35; Simone Gamble is paying for the United States – .

Emma McKeon explodes 51.35; Simone Gamble is paying for the United States – .

Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics


The women’s 4 × 100 freestyle relay final was one for the history books, with the Australian quartet scoring 0.36 behind the world record with a winning time of 3: 29.69. Although none of their swimmers were slower than 53.10, he was Emma McKeonsplit 51.35 in Game 3, which really put Australia a considerable distance from the rest of the field. McKeon’s was the 5th fastest stint ever, interrupting his teammate Celine Campbell‘s streak of the six fastest separations ever.

Rang Time Athlete The campaign Meet Date Lieu
1 50,93 Celine Campbell THE END 2018 Pan Pacific Championships 8/8/2018 Tokyo
2 51,00 Celine Campbell THE END Commonwealth Games 2018 4/4/2018 Côte d’or
3 51.10 Celine Campbell THE END World Championships 2019 23/07/2019 Gwangju
4 51.19 Celine Campbell THE END 2018 Pan Pacific Championships 8/8/2018 Tokyo
5 51.35 Emma McKeon THE END 2020 Olympics 24/7/2021 Tokyo
6 51.36 Celine Campbell THE END 2018 Pan Pacific Championships 8/8/2018 Tokyo

Sweden took the lead right out of lane 6 thanks to Sarah Sjoström who broke the Olympic record with 52.62. Brontë Campbell from Australia was next in 53.01, followed by Denmark Pernille Blume (53.07). Britain and Canada both produced departures below 54, as well, from Anna Hopkin (53.16) and Kayla Sanchez (53,42).

Departure separations

the United States Abbaye de Weitzeil was the fastest in the number 2 position with 52.68. She shared 52.56 in Rio, also in the second leg. Ranomi Kromowidjojo (52.87) from the Netherlands and Australia Meg Harris (53.09) were the second fastest # 2.

McKeon was leading the 3rd stage by 1.8 seconds. The next fastest was Nathalie Hinds of the United States, of which 53.15 moved the Americans from fourth to second. from Sweden Louise Hansson (53.51) and that of Canada Rébecca Smith (53.63) were the only other under-54s in Game 3.

Femke Heemskerk clocked a time of 52.05 at the end of the Dutch relay for the fastest anchor. Cate Campbell‘s 52.24 was next, bringing Australia for the record. Campbell’s fastest split, however, is 50.93 from the 2018 Pan Pacific Championships. She has been under 52 seconds 11 times. Penny Oleksiak landed a 52.26 to overtake the United States Simone Manuel by 0.70 and secure the silver medal for Canada.

Manuel’s 52.96 was the second fastest time for the US team. That was justification for the 2016 Olympic champion, whose semi-final performance at the US Olympic Trials put her in a final spot. Olivia Smoliga, Catie Deloof, and Allison Schmitt, who finished third, fifth and sixth in that race with times ranging from 53-middle to 54-low, ran over the United States relay in the prelims but none broke 53.4.

Flying splits

The campaign Position Swimmer To divide
Australia 3 Emma McKeon 51.35
Netherlands 4 Femke Heemskerk 52.05
Australia 4 Celine Campbell 52,24
Canada 4 Penny Oleksiak 52,26
United States 2 Abbaye de Weitzeil 52,68
Britain 4 Freya Anderson 52,84
Netherlands 2 Ranomi Kromowidjojo 52,87
China 4 Wu Qingfeng 52,9
United States 4 Simone Manuel 52,96
Australia 2 Meg Harris 53.09
United States 3 Nathalie Hinds 53.15
Britain 2 Abbie Bois 53.23
Canada 2 Maggie MacNeil 53,47
Sweden 3 Louise Hansson 53,51
China 2 Zhu Menghui 53,54
Sweden 2 Michelle Coleman 53,62
Canada 3 Rébecca Smith 53,63
Denmark 2 brother sign 53,78
Netherlands 3 Kira Toussaint 54.14
China 3 Ai Yanhan 54.22
Denmark 4 Jeanette Ottesen 54,39
Denmark 3 Julie Kepp Jensen 54,46
Britain 3 Lucie Hope 54,73
Sweden 4 Sophie Hansson 54,94


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here