Sergio Ramos will miss the 2021 tournament – fr

Sergio Ramos will miss the 2021 tournament – fr

Sergio Ramos has been excluded from the Spanish squad for Euro 2020.
National team coach Luis Enrique has announced his squad for the tournament, which was postponed last summer and will start next month on Monday morning.

Real Madrid defender Ramos, who runs his club and has often been captain of the national team, has been omitted.

Due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, each coach received a stipend of 26 men for their Euro team.

Enrique, however, chose to name just 24 players, leaving Ramos out.

The former Barcelona coach has actually decided not to include Real Madrid players.

Manchester City center-back, 20, Eric Garcia, who has made just 12 appearances for the Premier League champions in all competitions this season, and his team-mate Aymeric Laporte, who has had an injured campaign, both got the nod. on Ramos.

Enrique has suggested that Ramos, 35, an unused replacement in Real Madrid’s closing win over Villarreal on Saturday, suffered an injury which influenced the decision to leave him out of the Euro squad.

“Any decision I made about Sergio Ramos would have been controversial,” Enrique said. “I know where I am and I accept that there is noise in the media.

“The Aymeric Laporte decision has nothing to do with Ramos’ situation. [Ramos] is a top player, can help our national team a lot, plays for one of the best clubs in history.

“Please don’t mix Ramos who is not on the team with orders for the others. I wish he had been there, had recovered.

Previously, no Spanish team at a major tournament had ever been without a single Real Madrid player.

Asked about the total absence of players from Whites, Enrique said: “It’s possible because players like Dani Carvajal and Sergio Ramos [had] injuries during the season.

“Other than that, I can’t choose the team based on whether some people will be happy or not.”

Squad of Spain Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: David De Gea, Unai Simon, Robert Sanchez.

Defenders: Aymeric Laporte, Jordi Alba, Jose Gaya, Pau Torres, Eric Garcia, Diego Llorente, Cesar Azpilicueta, Marcos Llorente.

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets, Rodri, Pedri, Thiago, Koke, Fabian.

Attackers: Dani Olmo, Mikel Oyarzabal, Alvaro Morata, Gerard Moreno, Ferran Torres, Adama Traoré, Pablo Sarabia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here