Ireland adds 26 countries to mandatory quarantine list, removes one

Ireland adds 26 countries to mandatory quarantine list, removes one

DUBLIN (Reuters) – The Irish government on Thursday added 26 countries to a list of states subject to mandatory hotel quarantine on arrival due to the coronavirus, but did not include other countries in the European Union or the United States.

FILE PHOTO: Military personnel wait to escort passengers from designated quarantine buses arriving at the Crowne Plaza Dublin Airport hotel, as Ireland introduces a hotel quarantine program for travelers from ‘high-risk’ countries, in Dublin, Ireland on March 26, 2021. REUTERS / Clodagh Kilcoyne

According to a report by the Irish Independent newspaper, the government had been advised by the chief medical officer to add 43 countries, including the United States, France, Germany and Italy, to a list of jurisdictions subject to quarantine 12-day hotel stay upon arrival.

A decision on “additional states will be considered before the next government meeting,” the health minister and foreign minister said in a joint statement.

The states added on Thursday are: Albania, Andorra, Aruba, Bahrain, Bonaire, Saint-Eustache and Saba, Ethiopia, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Serbia, Somalia and the Wallis and Futuna Islands.

Ireland has some of the strictest travel restrictions in the European Union and last week England followed up on hotel quarantine for arrivals of people from countries deemed ‘high risk’ or not. COVID-19 test negative.

With the new additions, 58 countries are on the list of “designated states”, most of which are in the Middle East, Africa, Central America and South America.

Austria is currently the only EU member on the list.

Arrivals must be quarantined for up to 14 days in a hotel room or may leave after 10 days if their COVID-19 test is negative.

Travelers from the newly added states will need to book accommodation for the mandatory hotel quarantine if they intend to arrive in Ireland after 4 a.m. on April 6.

The Republic of Mauritius has been removed from the list.

Reporting by Graham Fahy; edited by Diane Craft


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here