French Willemse and Ireland center Aki gets date for disciplinary hearings

0
23
French Willemse and Ireland center Aki gets date for disciplinary hearings


Second-ranked France Paul Willemse and Irish center Bundee Aki were given a date for their disciplinary hearings following their red cards this weekend. Willemse was sent off in France’s spectacular loss to Wales on Saturday night, while earlier today Aki saw red in the second half of Ireland’s impressive win over England.
Both players will attend their auditions by videoconference tomorrow (March 23).

Willemse was given a red card by referee Luke Pearce with 11 minutes left after signing a contract with Wales goalkeeper Wyn Jones. France have just one game left in their Six Nations campaign as they host Scotland on Friday night, a game that will decide the outcome of this year’s championship.

After the game, France boss Fabien Galthie expressed his dissatisfaction with the decision, accusing the Welsh side of specializing in the expulsion of their opponents.

“If you watch the video there’s clearly no contact, or if there is, it’s clearly very limited,” Galthie said.

“It is absolutely not voluntary. I think we have to share this, I don’t see why it should be sanctioned.

Willemse will now face a disciplinary hearing for a violation of Law 9.12, which covers dangerous play, eye contact or eye area.

The law states that “a player must not physically or verbally abuse anyone. Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, biting, punching, eye contact or eye area, hitting with any part of the arm (including tackling with stiff arms) , shoulder, head or knees, stamping, trampling, tripping or kicking. ”

Irish center Aki has been sacked for a high tackle against England’s Billy Vunipola, and will face a hearing for a breach of Law 9.13, covering dangerous play during a tackle.

The law states “that a player must not attack an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackle includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the shoulder line, even if the tackle begins below the shoulder line. ”

Aki’s red card shared the opinion and Ireland head coach Andy Farrell admitted he had sympathy for the Connacht player.

“The rules are the rules, but at the same time it’s very difficult,” said Farrell.

“I’m going to watch it again but Billy seemed to be on a downward motion certainly with his head, but if there is contact, they are rigorous with that at that point.

advised

No more news No more news

Broadcast list

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly roundup of the vast world of rugby.

Register now



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here