Peyton Manning and Charles Woodson top 2021 list of Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists


Four players in their first year of eligibility are among the 15 finalists for the 2021 promotion of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
QB Peyton Manning, defensive back Charles Woodson, wide receiver Calvin Johnson and defensive end Jared Allen top the list of finalists. Up to five of the finalists will be chosen later this month for consecration.

The finalists were announced on Tuesday. This is the second time in the past four years that four players in their first year of eligibility have been finalists in the same year.

The 2021 class’s inauguration ceremony is currently scheduled for the week of August 5-9. The class of 2020 is expected to be dedicated in a separate ceremony that week as well, as last August’s event was canceled due to COVID-19 restrictions.

These four players, with 33 combined Pro Bowl appearances in their careers, join cornerback Ronde Barber, tackle Tony Boselli, goaltender LeRoy Butler, guard Alan Faneca, wide receiver Torry Holt, goaltender John Lynch, Linebacker Clay Matthews Jr., linebacker Sam Mills, defensive lineman Richard Seymour, linebacker Zach Thomas and wide receiver Reggie Wayne.

This could be the eighth year in a row that a player in their first year of eligibility is selected, and if three of the first year of eligibility players are selected from the five registered, it would be the third time in the past four years. only three players in their first year of eligibility were selected to be enrolled in the same class.

Champ Bailey, Tony Gonzalez and Ed Reed were consecrated in 2019, while Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, and Brian Urlacher were in the Class of 2018.

This year marks the eighth time Lynch has been a finalist, the sixth time for Faneca and the fifth time for Boselli.

The list of 15 will now be reduced to no less than five dedicated later this month by the Hall of Fame Selection Board.

Tom Flores is already a Hall Coaching Committee finalist, Bill Nunn is a Contributor finalist and Drew Pearson is a Senior Committee finalist. If all three are chosen for consecration, the Hall of 2021 class would have eight new Hall of Famers.

Manning – with five league MVP awards, 14 Pro Bowl selections, seven first-team All-Pro selections, a player of the year award, and a Walter Payton man of the year award – is one of the most successful players. most decorated in the league. the story. He was behind the Denver Broncos center when they won Super Bowl 50 to complete his final season (2015) in the league.

After 14 seasons with the Indianapolis Colts, Manning signed with the Broncos in 2012, making him one of the most accomplished players to switch teams in the era of free will. The Colts enjoyed 11 10-game seasons with Manning at quarterback and won Super Bowl XLI, with Manning selected as the game’s MVP.

He retired with numerous single-season and career records, including 5,477 passing yards and 55 touchdowns in 2013.

Woodson was drafted nine times to the Pro Bowl and finished his 18-year career tied for fifth in interceptions – with Ken Riley – at 65. He led the league in interceptions with nine for the Green Bay Packers in 2009, and he won a Super Bowl ring with the Packers the following season.

The cornerback-turned-safety has also forced 33 fumbles in his career, had 20 sacks and three seasons of 90 tackles, including 113 tackles with the Oakland Raiders at 38.

Johnson played nine seasons for the Detroit Lions before retiring abruptly after the 2015 season when he had 88 catches for 1,214 yards and nine touchdowns. He has had five 1,200-yard receiving seasons and is career 31st.

Due to the Lions’ struggles, what he said later helped his retirement, he played in just two playoffs, finishing with 211 receiving yards and two touchdowns in his first playoff appearance, one loss. of 45-28 against the New Orleans Saints in the NFC. wild-card round that followed the 2011 season.

And Allen, who is 12th on the league’s all-time sack list with 136, played for four teams in his 13-year career and led the league in the sacks in 2007 (with 15.5). as well as in 2011 (with 22).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here