Lana Del Rey explains the cover of the album ‘Chemtrails Over The Country Club’: “We are all a beautiful mix of everything”


Lana Del Rey has developed the cover art for her upcoming album ‘Chemtrails Over The Country Club’, appearing to respond preemptively to criticism of the diversity of the group of people he represents.
The singer unveiled the work of art and the record’s tracklist on Sunday evening (January 10). He introduces Del Rey and a number of other women gathered around a table, smiling.

She also left a comment on Instagram expanding on the cover art, starting the post: “I mean that too with everything happening this year! And no, it was not planned – they are my best friends, since you ask today.

“And damn! As far as my super friends and this cover art, yeah, there are some colored people in this record photo and that’s all I’m going to say about it, ”added Del Rey.

Some of the people on the cover, she wrote, were “Valerie from Del Rio Mexico, my very dear friend Alex and my beautiful friend Dakota Rain as well as my darling Tatiana”.

“We are all a beautiful blend of everything – some more than others, which is visible and celebrated in everything I do. In 11 years of work, I have always been extremely inclusive without even trying to do so.

She went on to write, “My best friends are rappers, my boyfriends have been rappers. ”

“My dearest friends have come from all over so before I comment again on a WOC / POC issue, I’m not the one storming the capital, I’m literally changing the world by putting my life, my thoughts and my love. over there on the table Sep 24. Stick to it.

It’s unclear who made the review Del Rey responded to, or whether the statement was entirely preemptive.

Read Del Rey’s commentary on the cover art below:

Part 1 of Lana Del Rey’s commentary on “Chemtrails Over the Country Club” album art. Credit: Lana Del Rey Official Instagram
Part 2 of Lana Del Rey’s commentary on “Chemtrails Over the Country Club” album art. Credit: Lana Del Rey Official Instagram

Last May, Del Rey came under fire for an Instagram post she posted in which she hit back at claims she was “glamorously abusing” with her music. In her post, she named a number of female artists in pop and hip-hop – including Doja Cat, Ariana Grande, Camila Cabello, Cardi B, Kehlani, Nicki Minaj and Beyoncé – who she said wrote, “Have had numbers one with songs being sexy, not wearing clothes, fucking, cheating etc.” “.

She added, “With all of the subjects that women are finally allowed to explore, I just want to say that over the past ten years, I find it pathetic that my minor lyrical exploration detailing my sometimes submissive or passive roles in my relationships has taken place. Often made people say that I ‘made women go back hundreds of years.

She later denied that her post was an attack on the artists she named, most of whom are women of color, calling “a headline grabbing critics.” [who] I don’t know how to read and I want to make a race war of it ”and claiming that the singers she spoke about were some of her favorite artists. She also posted a video post, in which she discussed “the need for fragility in the feminist movement” and further responded to claims that her post was racist.

“I’m not the enemy, and I’m certainly not a racist, so don’t twist it. No one can tell your story except you, and that’s what I’ll be doing in the next two books. So God bless you and yes fuck yourself if you don’t like the message, ”she said.

The “Chemtrails Over The Country Club” tracklist includes 11 songs, including the first single “Let Me Love You Like A Woman”. Find it below:

The list of “Chemtrails Over The Country Club” trails is:

1. “White dress”
2. «Chemtrails Over The Country Club»
3. «Tulsa Jesus Freak»
4. “Let me love you like a woman”
5. “Wild at heart”
6. “Dark but just a game”
7. “All those who wander are not lost”
8. «Yosemite»
9. “Break slowly”
10. “Dance until we die”
11. “Free”

From ‘Let me love you like a woman’, NMERhian Daly wrote that the song could be “a classic inter-album palette cleaner that, in the context of the new album, will continue its journey to ever-farther plains.

While the exact release date for the follow-up to ‘Norman Fucking Rockwell!’ is still unknown, the album is expected to be available for pre-order today (January 11) alongside the release of the album’s title song video.

Along with the preparation of the new album, Del Rey has shared a number of covers, including the classics “On Eagle’s Wings” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone”, as well as “Summertime” by George Gershwin.

She had previously teased an entire album made up of “American standards and classics” that has yet to be released.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here