Tough Battle for Group “B” Highlights Action on Day 6 at IIHF World Juniors

0
25


If the leaders broke up in group “A”, the same cannot be said of “group” B as there is still a three-team race at the top. Team Sweden have a game in hand and look to take advantage of their place at the top as the 2021 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship continues in the Edmonton bubble.
Team Finland vs Team Slovakia – 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on TSN 1/4/5

Finland broke a record 2-0-0-0 in their first pair of games. They were the first team to play against a team from the German team with short staff and took a 5-3 victory. They followed with a 4-1 victory over the Swiss team, edging their opponents 43-14. Much like Team Canada earlier in the tournament, Team Slovakia is set to represent Finland’s toughest test to date. Defender Topi Niemela stood out for the Finns, leading their team in scoring with one goal and three assists.

Team Switzerland vs. Team Germany – 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on TSN 1/4/5

This game must remain in the tournament. After a 4-3 overtime win over Slovakia, the German side will have to keep the scoring touch to advance to the next round. Ottawa Senators prospect Tim Stuetzle will be the one to watch for the Germans. He scored two goals and an assist in the victory. Team Switzerland lost a 10-0 result to Team Canada on Tuesday, but rested starting goalie Thibault Fatton, who has a .933 save percentage in his two starts.

Team Russia vs. Team Sweden – 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT on TSN 1/3/4

Sweden are the only undefeated team remaining in Group “B” after winning their two preliminary matches so far. But Sweden, the US team and the Russian team all have six points. Russia could take first place in the group with a victory. Forward Noel Gunler has scored three goals in two games for Sweden. Defender Victor Soderstrom was impressive, adding four assists.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here