Steve McQueen’s Small Ax Series Named Best Picture of 2020 by LA Film Critics


Steve McQueen’s ‘Small Ax’, an anthology of five films set in the black areas of London over a span of decades, was named Best Picture of 2020 by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, which announced its annual winners on Sunday. .
This is the first time that LAFCA has rewarded a group of films rather than a single film with the award for best film. McQueen’s anthology, which includes “Lovers Rock,” “Mangrove,” and “Red, White and Blue,” is currently airing on Amazon Prime, and neither the individual films nor the series qualify for Oscars or awards. guild as movies.

“Small Ax” will compete for Emmys and Guild Awards in the Limited Series TV categories. Strangely, LAFCA voters treated the anthology as individual films in the music category, where they picked “Lovers Rock” for a finalist citation, but then grouped all five films into the image, director, and cinematography categories.

Chloe Zhao’s “Nomadland” was a finalist and Zhao won the Achievement Award. McQueen finished second in this category.

The late Chadwick Boseman was named Best Actor for ‘My Rainey’s Black Bottom’. The Netflix film directed by George C. Wolfe and based on a play by August Wilson was the dominant film in LAFCA’s actor categories, with Glynn Turman winning the Supporting Actor award and Viola Davis finishing as Carey Mulligan’s Best Actress finalist for “Promising Young Woman.”

Korean actress Youn Yuh-jung was named Best Supporting Actress for “Minari”.

“Sound of Metal” won second prize for best actor for Riz Ahmed and for supporting role for Paul Raci. Amanda Seyfried was a finalist for supporting actress voting for ‘Mank’.

“Wolfwalkers” was named best animated film of the year, with “Soul” the finalist. “Time” beat “Collective” as the best documentary of 2020. “Beanpole”, which was Russia’s participation in the international Oscar race last year, was named best foreign language film, along with “Martin Eden ”as finalist.

The screenplay prizes went to two female writer-directors: Emerald Fennel won for “Promising Young Woman” and Eliza Hittman was named a finalist for “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”.

In the categories below, the Cinematography Prize was awarded to Shabier Kirchner for “Small Ax”. The music / score award went to Pixar’s “Soul,” which takes place in the world of jazz and includes a score by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross. The Production Design Award went to “Mank”, while the Editing Award went to “The Father”.

The New Generation Award for a Promising Filmmaker went to Radha Blank for “The Forty-Year-Old Version”.

Like the New York Film Critics Circle, which announced its winners on Friday, LAFCA is sticking to the calendar year to determine its year-end awards, even though the COVID-19 pandemic has made theatrical distribution to Los Angeles impossible for most of the year. . The Oscars and pretty much every other industry awards extend their eligibility period until January and February 2021, rather than limiting admissions to films released in 2020.

As usual, the LAFCA winners were a mix of films and people at the heart of the awards race (Boseman, Youn Yun-jung), dark horse contenders who could benefit from a boost from the one of the most prestigious critic groups (Turman, Mulligan and “Promising Young Woman”) and left-field picks to highlight the group’s independence (“Small Ax”).

Four of LAFCA’s winners last year won the Oscar: “Parasite” for photo and director, “American Factory” for documentary and “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” for production design. Four other winners were Oscar nominated but did not win.

LAFCA’s Best Picture winner has won the Academy Award for Best Picture 11 times in the organization’s 46 award-giving years, including three times in the past five years: “The Hurt Locker” in 2009, ” Spotlight ”in 2015,“ Moonlight ”in 2016 and“ Parasite ”in 2019.

The group is made up of 67 Los Angeles-based film critics working in print and electronic media. (TheWrap’s Alonso Duralde is a member.)

This year, the Career Achievement Awards will go to Taiwanese director Hou Hsiao-Hsien and actor, singer and activist Harry Belafonte, with the first Legacy Award going to Norman Lloyd.

The 2020 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

Best film: “Small ax”
Finaliste: “Nomadland”
Best director: Chloe Zhao, “Nomadland”
Finaliste: Steve McQueen, «Small Axe»
Best actor: Chadwick Boseman, “The Black Background of Ma Rainey”
Finaliste: Riz Ahmed, «Sound of Metal»
Best actress: Carey Mulligan, “Young Promising Woman”
Finaliste: Viola Davis, «Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom»
Best Supporting Actor: Glynn Turman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Background”
Finaliste: Paul Raci, «Sound of Metal»
Best Supporting Actress: Youn Yuh-jung, «Minari»
Finaliste: Amanda Seyfried, «Mank»
Best Foreign Language Film: « Beanpole »
Finalist: «Martin Eden»
Best Documentary / Documentary Film: ” Time “
Finalist: “Collective”
Best animated film: «Wolfwalkers»
Finalist: “Soul”
Best scenario: Emerald Fennell, “Young Promising Woman”
Finalist: Eliza Hittman, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”
Best photography: Shabier Kirchner, “Small ax”
Finalist: Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland”
Best Editing: Yorgos Lamprinos, “The Father”
Finalist: Gabriel Rhodes, “Time”
Best Music / Score: “Soul”
Finalist: «Lovers Rock»
Best production design: Donald Graham Burt, «Mank»
Finaliste: Sergey Ivanov, “Beanpole”
New Generation Award: Radha Blank, “The Forty Year Old Version”
Douglas E. Edwards Independent / Experimental Film / Video: “His socialist smile”, John Gianvito
Career Excellence Award: Hou Hsiao-Hsien, Harry Belafonte
Inheritance price: Norman Lloyd


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here