Level 2 Rules: All areas Essex residents should not travel to as new restrictions come into effect


Starting next Wednesday (December 2), Essex will be placed in a Level 2 lockdown.When the national lockdown ends, residents of Essex – including those in Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock – will have to follow new rules.

Most of the country is under a Level 2 lockdown, with domestic mixing bans inside.

However, much of the country is subject to a Level 3 lockdown, which is the highest form of lockdown currently possible.

These areas should be closed to level 2 residents.

Government advice currently states that level 2 residents should “avoid traveling or staying overnight in level 3 areas other than when necessary, such as for work, education, youth services, to receive medical treatment or because of family responsibilities ”.

According to the gov.uk website, here are all of the rules that people at level 2 must follow:

You are allowed to cross level 3 zones to get to another destination.

There are more areas under a level 3 lockout this time around compared to the previous three-level system in October.

This means there are plenty of areas that Essex residents should get away from.

Here are all the no-go areas for Essex residents

East Midlands

  • Derby et Derbyshire
  • Leicester et Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Nottingham et Nottinghamshire


  • Combined Northeast Administration:
    • County Durham
    • Gateshead
    • South Tyneside
    • Sunderland
  • Combined Authority North of Tyne:
    • Newcastle upon Tyne
    • North Tyneside
    • Northumberland
  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
    • Darlington
    • Hartlepool
    • Middlesbrough
    • Redcar et Cleveland
    • Stockton-on-Tees

Check the coronavirus numbers in your area by entering your zip code below.

North West

  • Blackburn avec Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Grand Manchester
  • Lancashire

South East

  • Kent and Medway
  • Slough (rest of Berkshire is level 2: high alert)

South West

  • Bristol
  • North Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham, Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall et Wolverhampton
  • Staffordshire et Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry et Solihull

Yorkshire et The Humber

  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • Kingston upon Hull / Hull
  • North East Lincolnshire
  • Lincolnshire of the North
  • Yorkshire du Sud
  • West Yorkshire


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here