Canadian Tyler O’Neill wins first gold glove; Betts, Baez among other winners


Canadian Tyler O’Neill won his first Gold Glove award for his left-field patrol role for the St. Louis Cardinals.

MLB announced the Gold Glove awards for the US and National leagues on Tuesday night. Mookie Betts of the Dodgers, Nolan Arenado of the Rockies and Javier Baez of the Cubs were among the other National League winners.

O’Neill, 25, has 89 strikeouts in 48 games this season, his third with the Cardinals. He led all MLB left fielder with nine defensive points saved (sixth among all MLB players), four above-average outings and was fourth among all MLB offfields in defensive wins over substitution (3.9) while making no mistakes.

His Cardinals teammate Kolton Wong also took home the award for his second-baseman defensive play, while Curt Flood, Willie McGee, Jim Edmonds and Jason Heyward are the only other Cardinals outfielders to win in franchise history. .

In the American League, Cleveland teammates Roberto Pérez and Cesar Hernandez won awards, while the Mariners (Evan White and JP Crawford) and Rangers (Isiah Kiner-Falefa and Joey Gallo) also took home two winners.

Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Lourdes Gurriel Jr. won his first Golden Glove nomination this season, but ultimately lost to Alex Gordon, who won for the fourth year in a row, bringing his career tally to eight. .

The full list of winners in both leagues by position is below.

American league

Launcher: Griffin Canning, anges de Los Angeles
Catch: Roberto Pérez, Indians of Cleveland
First base: Evan White, Mariners de Seattle
Second base: Cesar Hernandez, Cleveland Indians
Third base: Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Texas Rangers
Short stop: JP Crawford, Mariners de Seattle
Left field: Alex Gordon, Royals de Kansas City
Champ central: Luis Robert, Chicago White Sox
Right field: Joey Gallo, Texas Rangers

National league

Launcher: Max Fried, Braves d’Atlanta
Catch: Tucker Barnhart, Cincinnati Reds
First base: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs de Chicago
Second base: Kolten Wong, Cardinals of Saint-Louis
Short stop: Javier Baez, Cubs de Chicago
Third base: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
Left field: Tyler O’Neill, Cardinals of St. Louis
Champ central: Trent Grisham, San Diego Padres
Right field: Mookie Betts, Dodgers de Los Angeles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here