The teams nominated for the Women’s T20 Challenge, the Australians lack


Published on:

New Delhi (AFP)

Top Indian cricketer Smriti Mandhana will lead the Trailblazers team in the Women’s T20 Challenge to be held during Indian Premier League playoff week in the United Arab Emirates, organizers said on Sunday.

The Australian stars will miss the four-match tournament to be held November 4-9 as dates clash with the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), widely regarded as the best Twenty20 women’s tournament.

The WBBL will be held from October 25 to November 29 in Sydney where an Olympic-style sports village has been set up.

The Australian stars had expressed their dissatisfaction with the lineup of the Women’s Challenge in August, saying it would force players to choose between the two competitions.

India Harmanpreet Kaur and Mithali Raj have been named the captains of the Supernovas and Velocity teams in the teams appointed by the Cricket Control Council in India.

The teams were selected by a selection committee, unlike the IPL where players are bought at auction.

England’s Sophie Ecclestone, named ICC Emerging Player of the Year for 2018, will play for the Trailblazers in the tournament which will also feature players from Sri Lanka, New Zealand, South Africa and the West Indies.

Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham, who marked her country’s first T20 Women’s World Cup in half a century, will become the first Thai cricketer to participate in the tournament, the BCCI statement added.

The IPL and Women’s Challenge moved to the UAE as coronavirus cases skyrocketed in India, the second worst-affected country in the world after the United States.

Matches are being played behind closed doors at three venues, including Dubai and Sharjah.

The IPL final will be played on November 10.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here