Holiday Warning: Portugal, Spain, France and Germany Introduce New Coronavirus Restrictions | Travel News | Trip


Although Britons traveling to Portugal, Spain, France and Germany have to self-isolate on their return to England, with many flights still in service, some vacationers are continuing with their plans. However, as coronavirus restrictions are stepped up again across Europe, holidaymakers need to be prepared for the impact of these changes on their travel.

France’s new restrictions

In France, nine cities have been affected by nighttime curfews.

For at least four weeks, people in Paris, Marseille, Lyon, Lille, Saint-Étienne, Rouen, Toulouse, Grenoble and Montpellier will have to stay at home between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m.

The news comes as the nation returns to its “state of emergency.”

Bars and restaurants have also been closed in the capital, as well as in Marseille, Lyon, Lille, Grenoble and Saint-Étienne.

Despite this, schools will remain open and travel is permitted.

Unlike the British government, France also allows its citizens to meet in groups of six in private homes, regardless of where they live.

Large gatherings are limited to groups of 10, while wedding receptions and gatherings held at rented venues are prohibited.

Face masks are mandatory in closed public spaces throughout France.

Spain’s new restrictions

Spain has imposed a 15-day “state of emergency” in Madrid and the surrounding area.

The restrictions prohibit people from leaving and entering the metropolis unless they go to school or work.

Hotels and restaurants have seen their capacity halved and must close at 11 p.m.

The same capacity restrictions apply to businesses, which must now close their doors before 10 p.m.

Family and social gatherings are permitted but must adhere to the rule of six.

Places of worship remain open even if the capacity is reduced to a third.

Bars and restaurants in the Catalan region, meanwhile, are forced to close for two weeks.

Face masks are mandatory for anyone over the age of six everywhere, including outdoors.

Germany’s new restrictions

British nationals can still enter Germany, although they are subject to a mandatory quarantine period if they arrive from certain locations.

These are areas deemed “high risk” by German authorities and include Northern Ireland, North East, North West, Wales, Yorkshire and the Humber, Scotland and the British Overseas Territory Gibraltar.

Testing at airports is also mandatory for people arriving from high-risk countries since September 30.

Large gatherings around the country have been banned until the end of the year, including public festivals and sporting events.

Face masks are mandatory in shops and on public transport.

In heavily infected areas, such as Berlin, stricter restrictions are applied.

Those in Berlin are now limited to gatherings of no more than 10 people.

Bars and restaurants must close at 11 p.m.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here