France name strong squad for Wales clash


France have announced their squad for Saturday’s clash with Wales at Stade France and head coach Fabien Galthie has chosen a solid starting lineup.

The run-on team have a familiar look as Galthie selected the same team that started with a 24-17 win over England in their Six Nations opener in February.

Captain Ollivon

Charles Ollivon is the team’s captain on the scrum side and he is joined in the back row by his teammate François Cros while Grégory Alldritt starts at number eight.

The South African duo Paul Willemse and Bernard le Roux start in second row while Julien Marchand is a whore and sits alongside his Toulouse teammate Cyril Baille and Montpellier Haouas, who are the accessories.

In the back row, Anthony Bouthier will wear jersey number 15 and Teddy Thomas and Vincent Rattez are the two wings, with Gaël Fickou and Virimi Vakatawa forming the central combination.

Toulouse half-backs Romain Ntamack and Antoine Dupont complete the starting XV while experienced players like Baptiste Serin, Camille Chat, Thomas Ramos and Romain Taofifénua are among the replacements.

France: 15 Anthony Bouthier, 14 Teddy Thomas, 13 Virimi Vakatawa, 12 Gaël Fickou, 11 Vincent Rattez, 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Grégory Alldritt, 7 Charles Ollivon (c), 6 François Cros, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Bernard le Roux, 3 Mohamed Haouas, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Cyril Baille
Substitutes: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Jean-Baptiste Gros, 18 Demba Bamba, 19 Romain Taofifénua, 20 Dylan Cretin, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Arthur Vincent, 23 Thomas Ramos

Date: Saturday 24 October
Lieu: Stade de France
Start: 21h00 locales (20h00 BST, 19h00 GMT)
Arbitrator: Karl Dickson (Angleterre)
Assistant referees: to confirm
TMO: Tom Foley


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here