Start time, dates, live stream, route, how to watch, TV coverage, highlights


The Tour de France 2020 starts from Saturday August 29 to September 20. The three-week cycling event was originally scheduled to take place from June 27 to July 19, but has been postponed due to the pandemic. This year marks the 107e edition of the event and the first time since the end of World War II that the race does not take place in July. The 2020 Tour also includes 12 new sites and stage cities indicated by an asterisk in the list of the Tour de France 2020 program below.

2020 Tour de France Key Information

When does the Tour de France 2020 take place? What time does coverage start?

The 2020 Tour de France will take place from August 29 to September 29. 20. Coverage of Stage 9 begins at 7:00 am ET on NBC and 6:05 am ET on NBC Sports Gold. Click here for the start times for the rest of the 2020 Tour de France.

How to watch the tour?

Fans can watch the entire event on NBC Sports Gold (more info here), allowing you to see every stage live, ad-free and on-demand. Subscribers can also access interactive maps and get exclusive live feeds from alternate camera angles. The event can also be seen on NBCSN. Click here for a full live broadcast and TV schedule. Plus, check back for highlights from each stop here and on

Peacock Premium, available for $ 4.99 per month, will also provide live streaming coverage of each stage of the Tour de France 2020.

How long does the event last?

The Tour de France 2020 lasts 23 days. There will be one disputed stage per day and two days off. The first day of rest is September 7 (between steps 9 and 10) and the second will be September 14 (between steps 15 and 16).

How many runners?

There will be a total of 176 runners. There will be 22 teams with 8 riders per team.

How many steps?

There are 21 stages: 9 flat, 3 hilly, 8 mountain stages and 1 individual time trial.

What is the program and itinerary of the Tour de France 2020?

1August 29Nice Middle CountryPleasantAbout 156 kmPlat
2August 30Nice High CountryPleasantAbout 187 kmMountain
3August 31PleasantSisteronAbout 198 kmPlat
4September 1SisteronOrcières-MerletteAbout 157 kmHilly
5September 2DifferencePrivasAbout 183 kmPlat
6September 3The part *Mont Aigoual *About 191 kmHilly
7September 4MillauLavaurAbout 168 kmHilly
8September 5Cazères-sur-Garonne *Loudenvielle140 kmMountain
9September 6PauLaruns154 kilometersMountain

September 7 – Rest day

dixSeptember 8The Château d’OléronIle de Re Saint-Martin-de-Re *170 kilometersPlat
11September 9Châtelaillon-Plage *PoitiersAbout 167 kmPlat
12September 10Chauvigny *Sarran CorrèzeAbout 218 kmHilly
13September 11thChâtel-Guyon *Puy Mary Cantal *About 191 kmMountain
14September 12Clermont-FerrandLyonAbout 197 kmPlat
15September 13LyonGrand Colombier *About 175 kmMountain

September 14 – Rest day

16September 15thLa Tour-du-PinVillard-de-Lans164 kilometersMountain
17September 16GrenobleCol de la LozeAbout 168 kmMountain
18September 17MéribelLa-Roche-sur-Foron *About 168 kmMountain
19September 18Bourg-en-BresseChampagnole160 kmPlat
20September 19Lure*Board of Beautiful Girls36 kilometersAgainst the watch
21September 20Mantes la Jolie*Paris (Champs-Élysées)About 122 kmPlat

Click here to see the full map

How many miles does the Tour de France 2020 make?

The route is 3484 km (2165 mi).

Previous winners

2019 – Egan Bernal

2018 – Geraint Thomas

2017 – Chris Froome

2016 – Chris Froome

2015 – Chris Froome

2014 – Vincenzo Nibali

2013 – Chris Froome

2012 – Bradley Wiggins

2011 – Cadel Evans

2010 – Andy Schleck


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here