Peters wins the break amid GC reshuffle on stage 8 of the Tour


Nans Peters won the 8th stage of the Tour de France after the breakaway on a difficult day in the Pyrenees that saw more than a hopeful yellow jersey withdraw from the overall standings, and several other important changes to the General classification.

Thibaut Pinot, Julian Alaphilippe and Tom Dumoulin were among the many stars who tumbled down the general classification of the day, Pinot losing contact on the penultimate climb and Alaphilippe and Dumoulin fell on the Col de Peyresourde. Tadej Pogacar, meanwhile, climbed back up the overall standings with a late movement, recovering much of the time he lost in Stage 7.

Peters clinched his second career Grand Tour stage victory 47 seconds ahead of runner-up Toms Skujins and third Carlos Verona. Other break survivors crossed the line after them until Pogacar was the first of the yellow jersey’s top prospects to arrive, six minutes behind Peters.

Romain Bardet finished 38 seconds later with a small group of Miguel Ángel López, Adam Yates, Egan Bernal, Mikel Landa, Guillaume Martin, Primoz Roglic, Nairo Quintana, Rigoberto Urán and Richie Porte finishing just behind.

Yates remains at the top of the overall standings.

Peters, Skujins, Verona and the rest of a breakaway totaling 13 riders cleared almost immediately after the start, with the peloton quickly deciding to give up for several minutes. It would go about 13 minutes before leveling off there or so for much of the scene.

The break caught up with the Col de Mente with its advantage practically intact, while the first class climb proved to be the end of Giacomo Nizzolo’s Tour, as the European champion climbed into the team car at halfway up the climb. The climb also saw Romain Bardet crash, but he was able to quickly climb back up and resume his day.

The breakaway retained most of its advantage during the race at Port de Balès, where the action really started to heat up.

With Ilnur Zakarin pushing hard up front, the break began to erupt. Soon after, there were only Zakarin and Peters alone ahead as the rest of the escapees tried to keep the gap manageable. Meanwhile, back in a peloton led by Jumbo-Visma, Pinot suddenly broke down. Several teammates stepped back to help him but the Frenchman quickly lost time and within minutes it was clear his Tour GC bid was over.

On the descent, Peters opened up a gap on Zakarin that the Russian wouldn’t be able to completely close on his way up and through the final climb, and there was no Peters catching up from there, while Skujins and Verona would eventually overtake Zakarin.

Back in the yellow jersey group, the final climb was marked by a lot of drama as the riders attacked and counterattacked, big names like Alaphilippe, Dumoulin and Richard Carapaz losing contact with the leaders. Pogacar came away with a big dig halfway up the climb, and despite the firepower of the group of GC riders chasing behind, he opened a considerable gap as he continued the climb. He would finally win 40 seconds on the yellow jersey.

Carapaz would limit his losses to 38 seconds on the yellow jersey group. Dumoulin did worse, sending more than two minutes to the Yates group, while Alaphilippe came out of the overall standings, losing more than 12 minutes against yellow.

The GC riders will have another battle on their hands with another stage in the Pyrenees coming Sunday before Monday’s first day of rest.

Top 10, step 8

1 PETERS Nans (AG2R La Mondiale) 4:02:12
2 SKUJINS Toms (Trek – Segafredo) 0:47
3 VERONA Carlos (Movistar team)
4 ZAKARIN Ilnur (CCC team) 1:09
5 POWLESS Neilson (EF Pro Cycling) 1:41
6 HERMANS Ben (Israel Start-Up Nation) 3:42
7 PACHER Quentin (B&B Hotels – Vital Concept p / b KTM)
8 KRAGH ANDERSEN Soren (Sunweb Team) 4:04
9 POGACAR Tadej (UAE-Team Emirates) 6:00
10 BARDET Romain (AG2R La Mondiale) 6:38

Top 10, GC

1 YATES Adam (Mitchelton-Scott) 34:44:52
2 ROGLIC Primoz (Jumbo-Visma Team) 0:03
3 MARTIN Guillaume (Cofidis, Credit Solutions) 0:09
4 BARDET Romain (AG2R La Mondiale) 0:11
5 BERNAL Egan (INEOS Grenadiers) 0:13
6 QUINTANA Nairo (Team Arkéa Samsic)
7 LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel (team Pro Astana)
8 URAN Rigoberto (EF Pro Cycling)
9 POGACAR Tadej (UAE-Team Emirates) 0:48
10 MAS Enric (Movistar team) 1:00


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here