Malaysia extends entry ban to US, UK and French pass holders


KUALA LUMPUR – Malaysia on Thursday added at least nine other countries, including the United States, Britain and France, to its list of long-term immigration pass holders who could not enter in the country, the national Bernama news wire reported.

The Malaysian government announced on Tuesday that it will ban the entry of pass holders from India, Indonesia and the Philippines from September 7 in a bid to reduce imported cases of coronavirus in the country’s third-largest economy. South East Asia.

The ban will now include all countries that have reported more than 150,000 cases of the coronavirus, the report said, citing Chief Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

Malaysia, which reported just 9,374 COVID-19 cases and 128 deaths on Thursday, has banned tourists and business travelers from entering the country since March, when it imposed strict restrictions on movements and trade to contain the spread.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here