International travelers arriving in New York must quarantine, Cuomo orders except for these countries – NBC New York


All international travelers arriving at New York airports must now be quarantined for 14 days after arrival, according to a new executive order from Governor Andrew Cuomo – with the exception of a few countries.

On Monday, Cuomo signed the order to remind anyone coming from Level 2 or 3 countries, according to the Centers for Disease Control, that the quarantine is still in place. Level 2 or 3 countries are at moderate or high risk of COVID-19, according to the CDC website.

The quarantine order is not entirely new, as it was first put in place in March when the shutdowns and quarantines for the pandemic were only just beginning. However, the CDC rescinded screening measures at airports with inbound international flights, the governor said, leading him to sign the decree. Cuomo also said growing fears of a second wave of COVID led him to make the decision.

“We are seeing alarming increases in countries around the world,” Cuomo said.

In addition to the mandatory quarantine, all international passengers must complete a travel form that the state has declared necessary to link travelers to the appropriate local health department for contract research purposes. Those who refuse to complete the form face civil penalties, the governor’s office said.

The advisory applies to all people from areas where positivity rates are greater than 10 per 100,000 population, or greater than 10%, on a seven-day moving average.

I landed before that, so I don’t know. I landed before the announcement, ”said Sophia Morel, who is visiting from Serbia and arrived just after Cuomo signed the order – leaving her unsure whether it was supposed to quarantine. But if somebody’s only there for a month, I’m not going to come, I don’t need to come. I will also be staying at home for 14 days. ”

While the quarantine order is enforced, those who depend on tourism for their business fear it will further deter visitors and further hurt their already severely damaged bottom line.

There are, however, a few exceptions. Travelers entering the state from any of the 31 countries would not have to be immediately quarantined, according to the decree. These countries are:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Bonaire
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominique
  • the falkland islands
  • Fiji
  • Guernsey
  • Greenland
  • Grenade
  • Isle of man
  • Laos
  • Macao SAR
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Sept
  • Saint Bethelemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Saint-Eustache
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here