India, France, Australia Hold First Indo-Pacific Trilateral Dialogue | India News


Foreign Minister Harsh Vardhan ShringlaNEW DELHI: India, Australia and France on Wednesday, talks were held for the first time in a trilateral framework focused on strengthening cooperation in the Indo-Pacific, a region that has seen growing military assertiveness from China.
The virtual meeting was co-chaired by Foreign Minister Harsh Vardhan Shringla, Secretary General of the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs François Delattre and Secretary of the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs Frances Adamson.
“The aim of the dialogue was to strengthen cooperation in the Indo-Pacific region,” the foreign ministry said in a statement.
He said the “results-oriented” meeting was organized with the aim of building on the strong bilateral ties that the three countries share with each other and synergizing their respective strengths to secure an Indo region. -peaceable peaceful, secure, prosperous and rules-based. .
MEA said the three parties agreed to hold the dialogue on an annual basis.
He said the three parties discussed economic and geostrategic challenges and cooperation in the Indo-Pacific, particularly in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and national responses to the crisis.
“The three countries also had an exchange on the priorities, challenges and trends of regional and global multilateral institutions, including the best ways to strengthen and reform multilateralism,” MEA said.
The MEA said cooperation on global marine commons and potential areas for practical partnership at the trilateral and regional levels have also been discussed, including through regional organizations such as ASEAN, Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA ) and the Indian Ocean Commission.
ASEAN, which has 10 countries, is considered one of the most influential groupings in the region. India and several other countries including the United States, China, Japan and Australia are its dialogue partners.
IORA is a regional forum focused on strengthening maritime and economic cooperation.
Members of the bloc include India, Australia, Bangladesh, Iran, Kenya, Comoros, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia and South Africa. South.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here