Chase Elliott wins Busch Pole Award for Darlington playoff race


Chase Elliott won the Busch Pole Award for opening the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs Sunday at Darlington Raceway (6 p.m. ET on NBCSN / NBC Sports App, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). The Cook Out Southern 500 is a flagship event and will highlight the weekend back.The lineup was determined using NASCAR’s new competition-based formula, which is a total number based on the previous event: 15% of fastest lap time position, 25% of final driver position in the race, 25% of the owner’s final position in the race. and 35% of the Owner Points position. Any tie will be broken by the rulebook.

RELATED: Learn More About The New Line-Up Formula | Deep look at the playoff field

Denny Hamlin will join the Chevrolet n ° 9 Hendrick Motorsports in the front row of his # 11 Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing.

In the majority of National Series events since NASCAR’s return in May, starting rosters have been drawn. The new structure builds on the performance of individual races and the results of the season, rather than leaving a range of starting points to chance.

An example of how the math works: Elliott finished second in the last race (2 x 0.5), is fifth in owner points (5 x 0.35), and his last fastest lap was ranked third in the peloton (3 x 0.15). Its metric total is 3.2. Hamlin, meanwhile, had a metric total of 3.85 to place second; he finished third on Sunday (3 x 0.5), is second in owner points (2 x 0.35) and clocked the 11th fastest lap of the race (11 x 0.15).

See the full start list for Sunday’s race below.

Starting point Chauffeur Car # Team
1 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
6 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Ryan Blaney 12 Penske team
8 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
dix Aric Almirola dix Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Joey Logano 22 Penske team
14 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
16 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
17 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
18 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Motorsport in the front row
19 Michael McDowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
20 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
21 Christopher Bell 95 Course familiale Leavine
22 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
23 Brennan Poole 15 Premium motor sports
24 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
26 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
27 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
28 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
29 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
30 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
31 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
32 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
33 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsport business management
34 Ross Chastain * 77 Spire Motorsports
35 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
36 James Davison 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
38 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
39 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing

* Pilot change


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here