Which countries are quarantining travelers from France?


A new card of public service media source FranceInfo shows which countries have travel restrictions, such as quarantine, on arrivals from France.

Map of restrictions for people coming from France (Image: FranceInfo / Twitter)

Countries marked in yellow impose mandatory quarantines. Countries in blue test travelers from France for Covid-19 upon arrival. The countries in orange have closed their borders to arrivals from France, with a few exceptions. The countries in red have closed their borders to travelers from France.

Travel guidelines are updated frequently. For more detailed country information, see the French diplomacy website.

Travelers are also advised to check the terms of their travel insurance with their insurer before traveling abroad.

Mandatory quarantine for travelers from France

These countries impose quarantines of up to 14 days for visitors from France. While some quarantines are self-monitored, others are much stricter and can have legal consequences for anyone who does not comply.

Africa: Botswana, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Niger, Mozambique, Tunisia

Americas: Ecuador, Haiti, Peru, Uruguay

Asia: Brunei, China, Papua New Guinea, South Korea, Taiwan,

L’Europe : Armenia, Estonia, Finland, Holland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, United Kingdom, Ukraine

Middle East: Israel, United Arab Emirates

Arrival tests for travelers from France

These countries will require travelers from France to take PRC tests upon arrival. PRC tests involve a nasal swab. They show whether the person taking the test is infected with Covid-19 at the time the test is taken.

Africa: Benin, Djibouti, Liberia, Rwanda, Togo, Sierra Leone

Americas: Dominican Republic

Asia: Cambodia

L’Europe : Cyprus, Turkey

Middle East: Iran, Liban

Borders closed, with a few exceptions, to travelers from France

Possible exceptions may include allowances for essential travel, family members of citizens of the visited country, permanent residents or students studying in the country they are visiting.

Africa: Angola, Guinea, Nigeria, Nigeria, Senegal, Zimbabwe

Americas: Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Panama

Asia: Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam

Australasia: Australia

Middle East: Bahrain, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Qatar

Borders closed to travelers from France

The borders of these countries are closed to travelers from France. However, people residing in France who hold citizenship or permanent visas (such as a green card) for the country they wish to travel to may still be allowed to travel.

Africa: South Africa, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Eritrea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Malawi, Mauritania, Morocco, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda

Americas: Colombia, Honduras, Paraguay, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States

Asia: Bhutan, North Korea

Australasia: New Zealand

L’Europe : Moldova, Russia

Middle East: Azerbaijan, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Countries not on the list

Countries not on the list have no restrictions for those traveling from France or may require documents on arrival such as a negative PCR test taken in the days before travel.

For country specific information, see the French diplomacy website.

Related stories

British tourists will not have valid health insurance in France

Confusion over French reciprocal quarantine for UK arrivals

France-United Kingdom quarantine: hundreds of thousands of tourists stricken


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here