UK Quarantine Warning: Three Holiday Hotspots Set To Be Added As Italy Cases Rise | UK | News


The UK government has warned that countries that record daily cases exceeding 20 per 100,000 people over a seven-day period will be added to the 14-day quarantine list. The strict measure was first introduced for holidaymakers from Spain on July 25. France was next to be added to the list on August 15, with tens of thousands of Britons returning home before quarantine was imposed.

Croatia became the latest country to be added to the UK’s quarantine list on Saturday following an increase in coronavirus cases that saw their seven-day rate soar to 36.3.But now, three more holiday destinations popular with British holidaymakers are likely to be added to this list as well.

Greece is currently below the government threshold, reporting 14.2 cases per 100,000 people, according to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

But coronavirus cases have increased since the end of last month, with the country recording 264 cases on Saturday, an increase from 209 the day before.

The popular summer vacation destination has so far reported a total of 8,381 cases of the coronavirus.

Portugal are not far behind at 13.9 – although they were previously taken off the UK quarantine list.

Turkey’s daily average also edged up from 10.8 to 10.9.

Italy remains well below the UK threshold with 7.8 cases per 100,000 – but fears of a second wave of coronavirus are mounting after the country recorded 1,071 new cases on Saturday.

READ MORE: LIVE Coronavirus Map: Wave Two Is Coming? 1k reported cases

These are Spain, France, Croatia, Austria, Malta, Belgium, the Netherlands, Monaco, Luxembourg, Andorra, Aruba, Trinidad -and-Tobago, the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

The average daily cases of coronavirus in France and Spain remain dangerously high at 33.5 and 92.1 respectively, so they are unlikely to be removed from the quarantine list in the coming weeks.

Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines are the six countries to have been added to the “safe list”.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tweeted last week: “Data shows we need to remove Croatia, Austria and Trinidad and Tobago from our list of #coronavirus travel corridors to reduce infection rates .

“If you arrive in the UK after 04:00 Saturday from these destinations you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

“The data also shows that we can now add Portugal to these INCLUDED countries in the travel lanes.

“As with all airlift countries, know that things can change quickly.

“Only travel if you are satisfied with an unexpected 14-day quarantine if necessary (I speak from experience!)”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here