Men down: Philippa York in the Tour de France selection of Team Ineos


History has a habit of repeating itself, so we are once again discussing a decision by Team Ineos manager Dave Brailsford regarding his selection for the Tour de France. Go back to 2013 and the brutality of the choice then meant that the first British Tour winner, Bradley Wiggins, would not defend his title, instead replaced by Chris Froome who would go on to win this race and three other editions.Now, a similar fate has befallen Chris Froome and Geraint Thomas, winners of five of the last seven Tours de France, and, although it may seem surprising, the logic behind the decision stands up to scrutiny.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here