France doubles the list of COVID-19 “high risk” countries


PARISBy doubling its list of “high-risk” countries, France is now forcing travelers from 16 additional countries to take a PCR test for coronavirus to cross its borders.

The additions to the Ministry of Health’s list announced today include Maldives, Colombia, Montenegro, Bolivia, Kosovo, Dominican Republic, Argentina, Costa Rica, Chile, Equatorial Guinea, Kyrgyzstan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Palestine, Armenia and Mexico.

People wishing to enter France can take the test before traveling or at the border, with the exception of those from Chile, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova and Armenia, who must take the test before leaving the country.

The previous list was announced on July 25 and the expanded list is due to go into effect on August 16.

With 2,524 new cases of coronavirus infection reported in the past 24 hours and 17 new deaths, the ministry remains vigilant, with Prime Minister Jean Castex expressing the desire to further extend the measures in the coming weeks, including the wearing of masks in outdoor spaces to stem the virus has spread this summer.

Thursday, the death toll in France stands at 30,371 since the start of the epidemic with 206,696 infections, including nearly 84,000 people who returned home after their recovery. Twenty-one departments of the country remain officially in a “vulnerable” position.

Globally, the death toll stands at nearly 750,000 in 188 countries and the number of infections at 20.6 million, according to the latest figures from Johns Hopkins University in the United States.

The Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summary form. Please contact us for subscription options.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here