Croatia could be next on UK quarantine list, sources say


Image copyright

Around 875,000 British nationals visited Croatia last year

Quarantine measures could be imposed on people traveling to the UK from Croatia, the BBC has learned.

Ministers met in London on Thursday to discuss any changes to Britain’s list of safe travel corridors.

If Croatia is removed from the list, those returning from the country will need to be quarantined for 14 days.

This follows similar decisions taken by the government in recent weeks on Spain, France and Malta, resulting in a rush of tourists trying to return home.

Sources also told the BBC that there were concerns over cases in Trinidad and Tobago – where a number of UK residents are traveling.

Meanwhile, Portugal, which was initially excluded from the exemption list, could be added after a drop in cases in the country.

There has been a significant increase in coronavirus cases in Croatia in recent days.

The country recorded a record number of new cases on Wednesday, with 219 people testing positive – including a player from Croatian soccer league champions Dinamo Zagreb.

The cumulative number of cases over 14 days is 37.7 per 100,000, compared to 21 in the UK.

Around 875,000 British nationals visited Croatia in 2019.

Restriction returns

The UK eased general restrictions on people entering the country in early July, creating a list of travel corridors people could go to without having to self-quarantine on their return.

Many European countries have been included on the safe list – excluding Portugal – but the government has warned it will add destinations if coronavirus cases increase.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps told BBC Breakfast the decision to remove a country from the travel lane list was triggered when its infection rate exceeded 20 cases per 100,000 people over seven days.

Quarantine restrictions have now been reapplied to several countries:

  • They were reintroduced for travelers from Spain on July 27
  • Then from Luxembourg on July 31
  • Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas had restrictions reinstated on August 8
  • And on August 15, France, the Netherlands, Malta, Monaco, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Aruba joined the quarantine list.

The rules mean that anyone traveling to the UK from the destination must self-isolate for 14 days.

People who do not self-isolate can be fined up to £ 1,000 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and £ 480 in Scotland, and there are fines of up to £ 5,000 for repeat offenders.

The most recent figures released by the National Police Chiefs Council, for the period up to July 20, show that only one person has been fined in England and Wales for breaking quarantine rules.

Are you about to travel to Croatia? Are you in the countryside and coming home soon? Share your experiences by email

Please include a contact number if you would like to speak to a BBC reporter.

  • WhatsApp: +44 7756 165803
  • Tweet: @BBC_HaveYourSay
  • Please read our terms and conditions and privacy policy

If you are reading this page and cannot view the form, you will need to visit the mobile version of the BBC website to submit your question or comment or you can email us at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here