Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon and Artemi Panarin elected Ted Lindsay finalists


Leon draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon and Artemi Panarin were elected by the NHLPA as the three finalists for the 2020 Ted Lindsay award.The award is presented annually to “the most outstanding player in the NHL”, as voted by other members of the NHLPA.

Draisaitl won his first Art Ross trophy this season for leading the league with 110 points (43 goals, 67 assists), which he accomplished in 71 games with the Edmonton Oilers.

MacKinnon finished fifth in the NHL points race, leading the Colorado Avalanche with 35 goals and 93 points in 69 games. He was also named finalist of the award in 2018.

Panarin, in his first season with the New York Rangers, scored 32 goals and 95 points in 69 games. He had 20 more points than the next best scorer on the team, Mika Zibanejad.

This year marks the first time since 2016 that the Oilers captain Connor McDavid was not named a finalist for the award. McDavid, won the award in 2017 and 2018, before finishing behind the winner Nikita Kucherov in vote last year. McDavid finished second in the league in points this season, posting 34 goals and 97 points in 64 games.

The winner will be announced at this year’s playoff conference final.

More details to follow.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here