France set to profit as Spain suffers setbacks from COVID-19


Privateers – Saint Malo in Brittany

Revised UK government travel advice mandates non-essential travel to Spain’s islands and its mainland

A spike in coronavirus infection rates in Spain has resulted in a decision by UK Health Minister Helen Whately to require all travelers entering the UK from all parts of Spain to stay in quarantine. The ruling includes the islands of Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza, the Balearic Islands and the Canaries and means returning tourists must provide and the address where they must self-isolate for 14 days or risk a fine.

Travel company TUI UK has canceled all vacations to mainland Spain and its islands for the next few days, following the change of government. Meanwhile, a spokesperson for Jet2 said it would continue its “regular schedule of return flights to the UK from these destinations”, but that there will be no flights to Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Mallorca, Menorca and Ibiza with the Airline.

Following an interview this morning with the BBC Breakfast and Sky News, Whately said the government had considered the advice of the Chief Medical Officer of Public Health England and the Joint Bio-Security Center to act to decisively and impose the decision.

She added: “After all of the hard work and sacrifice during our lockdown period, we are now in a position to prudently reduce some of these restrictions and we cannot take the risk of reverting to a situation where Covid rates increase. the country. “

So what does this mean for those who want to visit France?

Meanwhile, France still welcomes British and European tourists and does not require a period of quarantine on entry into the country, nor the obligation to self-isolate on return.

COVID-19 testing is mandatory for all people from 16 countries (see list below) considered to be at high risk, including the United States. People arriving from the UK or the Schengen zone are not required to take a test before entering France, but can if they wish.

French Prime Minister Jean Castex stressed that coronavirus tests will be rolled out across France by August 1 and will also be carried out in French ports. For the moment, certain French airports, including the airports of Paris, Bordeaux and Lyon, offer tests on a voluntary basis to passengers arriving on French soil.

Whately recommends that those planning to go abroad “consult the advice of the Foreign Office, check your travel insurance and conditions with your operator”.

Citizens of the following countries will need to take a test before entering France:

  • WE
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Bahrain
  • Panama
  • South Africa
  • Kuwait
  • Qatar
  • Israel
  • Brazil
  • Peru
  • Serbia
  • Algeria
  • turkey
  • Madagascar
  • in
  • Oman

Morocco, so far, is not included in the list, but can be added at a later date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here