Delivery of the first ECMA list before the main event on Saturday


The first list of winners at the East Coast Music Awards saw Wintersleep and Tim Baker take the lead, even though the four Atlantic provinces were well represented.Twenty-nine awards were announced as part of a pre-rewards program broadcast online Friday afternoon, before the main television program on Saturday evening.

Wintersleep, a longtime indie rock favorite from Nova Scotia, won group recording and rock titles of the year for their seventh album, In the land of.

They also won the song of the year for the track Beneficiary.

“I think it’s always exciting, and how ECMA is a very special event for us,” group member Paul Murphy said on Saturday.

“It’s a great thing for the industry itself here, there is so much love poured out from all of these people. ”

After years of appearing on the ECMA lists with the ensemble Hey Rosetta!, The Newfoundlander Tim Baker won two prizes for his first solo album.

Baker won the folk recording of the year for Forever Overheadand video of the year for the song All hands.

Dave Sampson, of Halifax, won two ECMAs, his first, including recording rising stars and the best country recording of the year for his album All types of routes.

Newfoundland jazz pianist Florian Hoefner also won two awards for First spring: instrumental and jazz recordings of the year.

From Prince Edward Island, the East Pointers won a recording of contemporary roots for their latest album It’s up to youand Paul Bernard, born in Summerside, received a Stompin ‘Tom award on Saturday morning.

The Newfoundland Wonderful Grand Band was also recognized for its contribution to the Canadian music scene with a Stompin ‘Tom award.

April Wine’s Myles Goodwyn, born in New Brunswick and raised in Nova Scotia, won the blues record of the year for Myles Goodwyn et Friends of the Blues 2.

Also from New Brunswick, famed soprano Measha Brueggergosman won the Directors’ Special Achievement Award, while The East won the media of the year.

Other gender awards include Rich Aucoin Release for electronic recording of the year, Neon Dreams takes pop recording with Sweet Dreams Till Sunbeams, R & B / soul recording to Laura Roy for Fortand Jacobus (Jacques Alphonse Doucet from Radio Radio) solo to win a rap / hip-hop recording with Caviar.

Neon Dreams won the pop recording of the year. (ECMA)

In industry awards, Bill Roach of CBC Weekend mornings won the Media Personality of the Year award, while the Celtic Colors International Festival won the Event of the Year and St. John’s Ship Pub won the Room of the Year award.

The ECMA 2020 will be broadcast Saturday at 9:00 p.m. / 9:30 a.m. NT on CBC TV and CBC Gem.

The full list of winners is below:


  • Blues recording of the year: Myles Goodwyn – Myles Goodwyn et Friends of the Blues 2
  • Classic recording of the year: Marc Djokic – Solo Seven
  • Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year: The East Pointers – It’s up to you
  • Country recording of the year: Dave Sampson – All types of routes
  • Dance recording of the year: Famba – Swear to God
  • Electronic recording of the year: Rich Aucoin – Release
  • Folk recording of the year: Tim Baker – Forever Overhead
  • Group recording of the year: Wintersleep – In the land of
  • Inspirational recording of the year: Ian Foster and Nancy Hynes – One week in December
  • Instrumental recording of the year: Florian Hoefner – First spring
  • Jazz recording of the year: Florian Hoefner – First spring
  • Loud Recording of the Year: Spirit of the Wildfire – Bittersweet Nothings
  • Pop recording of the year: Neon Dreams – Sweet Dreams Till Sunbeams
  • Rap / hip-hop recording of the year: Jacobus – Caviar
  • R & B / Soul recording of the year: Laura Roy – Fort
  • Rising Star Record of the Year: Dave Sampson – All types of routes
  • Rock recording of the year: Wintersleep – In the land of
  • Song of the Year: Wintersleep – Beneficiary (Producteurs: Tony Doogan, Wintersleep)


  • Company of the Year: The Syrup Factory
  • Event of the year: International Festival of Celtic Colors
  • Graphic / Media Artist of the Year: Deep Hollow Print
  • Management / Manager of the year: Jones & Co.
  • Media of the year: East
  • Media Person of the Year: Bill Roach
  • Producer of the Year: Daniel Ledwell
  • Studio of the year: Soundpark Studios
  • Studio Engineer of the Year: Thomas Stajcer
  • Location of the Year: The Ship Pub
  • Video of the Year: Tim Baker – All Hands (Director: Jordan Canning)

Three recipients of the ECMA 2020 Honorary Prizes announced earlier this week were also celebrated during the digital pre-exhibition:

Directors’ Special Merit Award: Measha Brueggergosman

Industry Builder Award: Tony Murray

Musician Excellence Award: Kelly Russell

The Dr Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Shanneyganock during Saturday’s television broadcast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here