Adams Prize Finalists Announced |


Cassidy coached the Boston Bruins to the best NHL record (44-14-12, 0.714 percentage points) and the Presidents’ Trophy as the best regular season team. Boston was eight points ahead of Tampa Bay Lightning’s second place in the Atlantic Division, the largest amount of all the division leaders, when the season was interrupted on March 12 due to concerns over the coronavirus. The Bruins won the Jennings Trophy for allowing the fewest NHL goals (167, 2.39 per game) and tied for the seventh most goals (227, 3.24 per game) . They finished second behind the Edmonton Oilers in power play percentage (25.2) and third in penalty percentage (84.3). Cassidy was a finalist of the award in 2017-18.Boston will play the Lightning (0.657), Washignton Capitals (0.652) and Flyers (0.645) in the Stanley Cup Qualifying Round robin to determine the top four seeded Stanley Cup Playoffs from ballast.

[ENRELATION:[RELATED:[ENRELATION:[RELATED:Complete List of Jack Adams Award Winners]

Tortorella guided the Columbus Blue Jackets (33-22-15, 0.579 percentage points) to a place in qualifying. Columbus has overcome injuries to many players throughout the season, including forwards Josh Anderson, Cam Atkinson and Oliver Bjorkstranddefenders Seth Jones and Zach Werenskiand goalkeeper Joonas Korpisalo. The Blue Jackets finished fourth against goals per game (2.61) and have twice scored streaks of at least 10 games (8-0-4 December 9 to January 2; 9-0- 1 from January 11 to February 11). . 7). Tortorella, double Jack Adams award recipient (Blue Jackets 2017-18; lightning 2003-04) and finalist for the fifth time, may join Pat Burns (Montreal Canadiens 1988-89; Toronto Maple Leafs 1992-93 ; 1997-98 Bruins) as the only coaches to have won it three times.

# 9 seeded Blue Jackets to face Maple Leafs (36-25-9, .579), # 8 seeded in one of eight best qualifying heats with winner to qualify for the playoffs.

Vigneault led the Flyers to their fourth best record in the Eastern Conference (41-21-7) and to a playoff spot in their first season. Philidelphia tied Tampa Bay for seventh place in goals per game (2.77) after finishing 29th in 2018-19 (3.41) and seventh for goals scored in game (3.29) after finished 18th in 2018-19 (2.94). The Flyers have had four winning streaks of at least four games and have won nine straight from February 18 to March 7). A five-time finalist, Vigneault won the award with the Vancouver Canucks in 2006-2007.

Flyers forward James van Riemsdyk welcomed Vigneault’s approach to qualifying after a four-month break in the season.

“I think the most important thing with him when it comes to any coach I have played for at any level, he lets others do their job. at the right time, so he relies on the sport’s scientific staff to know how long we are practicing, how hard we are practicing, when to push a little harder, when to step back and give us a little time to recover, “said van Riemsdyk. “I think that because of all the tools he uses, he was very smart about it. As players, we have a ton of confidence in what he wants us to do and this will help us to be prepared and ready to play as this process progresses and get to Toronto and start playing. ”

Barry Trotz of the New York Islanders won it last season.

The 2020 NHL Awards were scheduled for June 18 in Las Vegas, but were postponed on March 25.

Assistant editor Adam Kimelman contributed to this report


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here