The MLS updates the process of qualification to the knockout stages for the tournament, MLS is Back


The MLS has announced a change to the qualification procedure of the group for the MLS is back in the tournament, which will begin in Orlando on July 8.The phases of groups of the tournament consists of 26 clubs divided into six groups (groups A-F). Each group is composed of four teams, with the exception of group A, which comprises a total of six teams.

The league has confirmed that the three best teams of group A – the top half of the finishers of the group – will qualify for the knockout stages. The two best teams of the other groups will win also places automatic for the knockout stages. Procedures of a tie in regular season MLS will be used, if necessary.

The next three teams with the best-ranked in the phase of groups on the basis of the total number of points will complete the squad of 16 (note that the team ranked 4th in group A will be eligible to advance). Breakage of a tie for these three spots will include: (1) goal difference, (2) the goals and (3) the least amount of points in disciplines, if necessary.

Games of knockout

  • 25 July: A1 vs Wildcard B / C / D / E
  • July 25: A2 vs C2
  • July 26: B1 vs A3
  • 26 July: D1 vs Wildcard B / C / E / F
  • 27 July: C1 vs Wildcard A / B / D / F
  • 27 July: B2 vs. F2
  • July 28: E1 vs D2
  • 28 July: F1 vs E2

In addition to the points of the regular season in the group stage, there is also a place for the champions League of Concacaf, and $ 1.1 million of in-game prizes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here