Shawn Mendes, Alessia Cara & the biggest Winners at the 2020 horizon, the Juno Awards


If a price is held virtually, without an audience to applaud the winners and no acceptance speeches, even patched away, do the awards still count? You bet they do. Artists should not be penalized because of the strange times we live in. A record is a record, and Shawn Mendes to define a true historical record at the 49th annual Juno Awards, which took place almost Monday (June 29).

Mendes became the first artist in the Juno Awards history to win single of the year for three years running. He won this year for ” Señorita “, her sensual collab with Camila Cabello. He has won the past two years, with “there’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back “(2018) and “In My Blood” (2019). Anne Murray, Glass Tiger and Alanis Morissette, had won the prize two years in a row.

Mendes also became only the second artist to win the entertainer of the year for two consecutive years. The Weeknd earned in 2015-16. This brings Mendes collection of Junos to an even 10. The artist, who was born in Pickering, Ontario, is just 21.

Alessia Cara, who was originally set to be host of the show before the coronavirus-forced cancellation, has won three awards—album of the year and pop album of the year for her second album, The Pain of Growthand author-composer of the year. She is the first woman to take the album of the year for Carly Rae Jepsen has won in this category seven years ago for Kiss. Cara is the first woman to win the songwriter of the year, as Serena Ryder has won the prize six years ago.

Cara had been to this year, the high representative, with six nods.

The Junos were originally scheduled to be held on 15 March at the SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Avril Lavigne has won the Fan Choice award—the only award voted on strictly by the fans—for the third time. She had won in 2005 and again last year. Only two other performers have won three or more times since the category was introduced in 2003. Justin Bieber leads with five awards. Michael Bublé has also won three times. (Bieber was among the nominees in this category this year.)

Torey Lanez has become the first artist in the Juno Awards history to win rap recording of the year (“Weird”), and the R&B/soul recording of the year (“Feel it Too,” a collab with Jessie Reyez and Tainy). Lanez had the year’s second most nominations (five).

Billie Eilish success of the first album When We Fall Asleep, Where Are We Going? won international album of the year. It was also necessary that prices at the Brit Awards in the uk on Feb. 18. He won the Grammy for album of the year on Jan. 26.

Bryan Adams has taken on the adult contemporary album of the year for Shine a Light. It is his 17th of Juno, which puts it in third place among all artists in Juno history, behind Celine Dion and Murray. The album was also nominated for album of the year, but lost to Cara. Adams teamed up with Ed Sheeran to co-write the title of the track to Shine a Light.

Lennon Stella has won the award for breakthrough artist of the year. Neon Dreams won breakthrough group of the year. (Neon Dreams had won the Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class award in 2017. They are the first to act to get out of this allocation to the competitiveness of Juno.)

Strong Luxury won the award in the group category of the year. Last year, they have won the prize for the dance recording of the year.

Cara, Neon Dreams, aboriginal artist iskwē, and bluegrass ensemble, The Dead South (winner of the roots traditional album of the year) performed during the show.

The show opened with a message of support to the global effort in favour of racial equality, and a quite remarkable moment of self-criticism. They noted that, although the Junos, began in 1970, it took 15 years before they added the soul, and reggae categories. In addition, they add, the first rap award was not introduced until 1991, and the first prize for the indigenous music was not introduced until 1994.

No mention is made of Jann Arden, who was voted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame this year.

The In Memoriam roll call included such noted Canadian artists as Leon Redbone, and Neil Peart of Rush.

The next year, the Junos, the 50th, will be presented in Toronto. The mayor of the unwound show in Saskatoon with a mixture of bonhomie past the hand—virtually, of course—for the mayor of Toronto.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here