Provincial COVID-19 travel restrictions remain in the east and the north


While the provincial governments will re-open economies, and relax some of the restrictions imposed to meet the COVID-19 pandemic, travel restrictions and mandatory self-isolation policies remain in place in the eastern provinces and the northern territories.Here’s what you need to know about the travel policies in each province and territory.

B. C.

While the province has not implemented the border posts, the government is still asking residents to avoid non-essential travel during the B. C. border of Alberta.

The B. C. government web site of the note, however, that 77 of the Road is closed in both directions at the Petitot River Bridge (4 km south of the border between british Columbia and the northwest Territories). The road is closed for non-essential travel.

For travellers to the Yukon via Highway 97 or on Highway 37, the level crossings are limited to essential travel only.


Alberta has no border checkpoints or travel restrictions, but non-essential travel outside of the province is not recommended.

However, the northwest Territories government has changed its point of control of the program to the N. W. T.-Alberta border, allowing Albertans to get access to Fort Smith, N. W. T. region.

The Plates on the wall in Lloydminster, designating the border between Alberta and Saskatchewan, including the emblems. (Trevor Bothorel/CBC)


The Saskatchewan government has imposed travel restrictions on the north Saskatchewan, but the government has since lifted these restrictions.

Residents are asked to limit all non-essential travel outside of Saskatchewan, with the exception of people who live in border communities and travel for work.

It is not mandatory that the residents of Saskatchewan self-isolate for up to 14 days after their return from the out-of-province travel.


The province had not closed its borders to interprovincial, but it has established information of the control points at the provincial border crossings-four entering from Saskatchewan and one from Ontario — to inform travelers of the risks of COVID-19.

Watch: Families worry about the Manitoba restrictions for travelers

In Manitoba, between in the Phase 3 of its reopening plan, the province will drop its mandatory two-week self-isolation period for certain visitors. A large portion of northern Ontario is still subject to the self-isolation of rules. 2:07

However, it has since begun to relax on these control points.

The province is also the abandonment of its mandatory two-week self-isolation period for certain visitors.

Travellers from Western Canada, the territories, or a part of north-western Ontario (to the west of the Terrace of the Bay) may enter into Manitoba without self-isolation, as long as they do not have symptoms or a known exposure to COVID-19.


There are no travel restrictions in Ontario.


The province has set up roadblocks in some regions, to contain the spread of COVID-19, but those have since been removed.

The members of Québec, the provincial police force to speak to the driver of a recreational vehicle near the united States border at Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, south of Montreal, on the 28th of March 2020. The canada-U.S. border remains closed to non-essential vehicle traffic. (Graham Hughes/The Canadian Press)

At the present time, the access is allowed for all regions of the province, with the exception of the following territories:

  • The Cree Territory of James Bay.
  • The Nunavik.

The government, always, of a move request is limited, from one region to another or from one city to the other.

New Brunswick

N. B. the First minister Blaine Higgs said he expects a shift of the bubble to open between New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador, at the beginning of July. Such a bubble would travel among the provinces, without the need to self-isolate for up to 14 days.

N. B. could be open to the rest of Canada by mid-July, as long as the officials can continue to manage the spread of COVID-19, he said.

In the meantime, all unnecessary travel in New Brunswick is still banned, and the peace officers are authorized to turn to a person when they are trying to get.

Any person authorized to enter at any entry point to stop and and answer the questions by a peace officer. Travellers who will stay in the province must then self-isolate for up to 14 days.

New Brunswick, the Prime minister Blaine Higgs is expected to see a displacement of the bubble between the Atlantic provinces at the beginning of July. (Government of New Brunswick/Submitted)

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Premier Stephen McNeil is also hoping for the Atlantic bubble to open at the beginning of July. And that the province might be open to the rest of the country in the mid – to late-July.

In the meantime, the province has set up checkpoints at every major entry point into the province and any incoming person is arrested and interrogated.

The motorways, the airports and the ferry terminals are monitored, with the staff tell travellers to self-isolate for 14 days, regardless of where they come from.

Certain travelers are exempt from the self-isolation of the rules, including drivers, medical staff and other essential personnel.


Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Dwight Ball has said that he is open to enable the free movement of persons between the Atlantic provinces, and officials are working out the details of a regional bubble.

Until then, non-residents are banned from entering the province, unless they have an exemption. Any person falling within the province is required to be isolated for 14 days.

P. E. I.

P. E. I Premier Dennis King has said that he believes it is still too early to give a precise date of the Atlantic travel bubble comes into force. However, he said that his focus is on this plan, instead of at his province can be open to the rest of Canada.

In the meantime, P. E. I. remains closed to non-residents, allowing health care providers and workers in essential services, such as truck drivers delivering goods, cross the Confederation Bridge.

All residents who have travelled within Canada or abroad are ordered to self-isolate for up to 14 days after the return.

The Confederation Bridge in P. E. I. was closed to all but essential traffic. (Rick Gibbs/CBC)

The Yukon, Nunavut, The Northwest Territories

All three territories had active public health orders prohibiting non-essential travel in the rest of Canada.

In the Yukon, non-residents are allowed to travel through the territory on their way to other destinations. And on the 1st of July, the Yukon will be the opening of its border with the B. C.

However, the territory, because it is the opening of its border with the B. C., will not be part of travel in the north of the bubble with the northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Residents of Nunavut and N. W. T. can now travel freely between the territories, without having to self-isolate when they return.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here