Phase four in New York: What is allowed to open?


ALBANY — Movie theaters, comedy clubs and museums are among the companies that will be able to open their doors for the first time since the month of March, under the fourth phase of New York’s economic reopening.

Colleges, universities and other educational institutions will also be allowed to open in the state under phase four, although the schools had already been closed due to the 2019-2020 school year.

Reopening phases are determined by the fact that each of New York’s 10 regions meet certain health and reporting indicators for all of two weeks. The Capital Region reached phase three, last Wednesday, by 1 July at the earliest, it can reach phase four.

Five regions — central New York, Mohawk Valley, Southern Tier, Finger Lakes and the Countries of the North, may be able to open in phase four as soon as Friday.

The fourth step is the last of the state-of-the reopening of phases, consisting primarily of entertainment, and higher education. Places such as casinos, zoos and aquariums will also be allowed to open, but only if they comply with the strict requirements regarding the social distance, sanitation and other public services-health considerations. The northern regions of the Mid-Hudson region have reached phase three. Mid-Hudson, New York and Long Island remain in phase two.

Companies are required to develop a written safety plan. The plan does not need to be submitted to the state, but must be kept in the premises. Among the requirements of 50 percent of the capacity of caps, free masks to all employees and signs posted throughout the company, reminding customers to maintain six feet of separation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here