Iginla, St-Pierre, the netherlands top the rankings of the Temple of the hockey hall of fame 2020


On Wednesday, the Temple of the hockey hall of fame has announced its class of inductees 2020.

Five players have been named in the class this year: Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe, Kim St-Pierre and Doug Wilson. They are joined by Ken Holland, a part of long-standing of the NHL, in the builder category.

“The Temple of the hockey hall of fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as honoured members,” said Lanny McDonald, chairman of the Temple of the hockey hall of fame, in a press release. “Their contributions to hockey are well documented and their election to the Temple of the hockey hall of fame is well-deserved.”

This is the first year of eligibility for Iginla. During his two decades in the NHL, he has revolutionized the avant-garde position, and defined what it meant to be a leader. The former captain of Calgary has spent 15 years with the Flames, leading the club to score in 11 of them while playing a physical match. The native of Alberta has also represented Canada on the international scene, winning two gold at the olympic Games (2002 and 2010).

Hossa began his career in Ottawa in 1997 and ended in Chicago 20 years and 1309 games later after having helped the Blackhawks dominate in achieving the status of dynasty with three wins in Stanley Cup (2010, 2013, 2015).

A native of Châteauguay, Quebec, St-Pierre is a pioneer in women’s sport. She is best known for having helped Team Canada win three olympic gold medals with the figures of another world – his average career goals with the national team of Canada is 1.17, with a percentage of stops of 0,939.

Before joining the front office of the Oilers, Lowe was a first-round of the organization in 1979. In 13 years with the club, the defender has helped Edmonton win five Stanley cups and, after being traded to the New York Rangers, he won a sixth.

Wilson, now the general manager of the San Jose Sharks, has played 14 seasons with the Chicago black hawks where he was a champion dominant and a talented pilot offensive attack, leading the rear-guard of the club in points for 10 consecutive seasons.

Holland, the only constructor of the class of inductees this year, is especially known for his talents of team-building in Detroit. In 22 years as general manager of the Red Wings, he inaugurated the club in an era of dominance that saw them win more games than any other franchise during that period and winning three championships with the Stanley Cup. Holland is now the general manager of the Edmonton Oilers, after having taken over the front office in may 2019.

The new class has been determined by a panel of 18 voters, who met virtually earlier this week to elect the class of 2020 with the help of an on-line voting secure.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here