COVID19: Cyprus allows tourists from France, Lebanon


Cyprus on Friday widened the number of countries allowed to enter the country after the coronavirus blocking travel restrictions to include the virus struck Italy, France, Spain and neighboring Lebanon.

After reassessment of the coronavirus data, Cyprus has readjusted its approval of the list to allow the 32 countries to enter from an initial list of 21 when a commercial flight ban was lifted on June 9.

According to a statement from the Ministry of Health on Friday, 22 countries are now considered to be low risk, including Greece, Germany, Austria, Bulgaria, South Korea and Australia.

As of Saturday, tourists from these countries will not need to provide a medical certificate proving that they have tested negative for the coronavirus.

There are a dozen countries in the higher risk category of Group B, including France, Lebanon, Italy, Israel, Belgium and Spain – from which visitors will need to provide a certificate of health care providers have shown that they are COVID-19-free.

Only Israel, Poland and Romania were previously listed in group B.

The changes were based on an assessment of the updated epidemiological data, which also saw Israel relegated to the country at low risk, after a spike in those cases.

In Cyprus, the two largest tourist markets – the UK and Russia – have yet to be included on the entry list.

The Department of Health has stated that those arriving must undergo a COVID-19 test no more than 72 hours before departure.

He said for countries that do not provide coronavirus tests on request, the Cypriot authorities will conduct tests on airport arrivals at a cost of € 60.

Cyprus reported 985 total coronavirus cases and 19 deaths and watched it kick-start tourism.

It expects nearly 30% of its normal four million tourists to arrive this year due to the pandemic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here