Canadians allowed to travel to Europe during coronavirus pandemic – National


The European Union has announced a list of countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter 31 European countries in the midst of the coronavirus pandemic.The United States is not on a “safe list” of destinations for non-essential travel, but Canada is.

Read more:

European borders are starting to loosen but travel will not return to levels before COVID-19

The countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and the Uruguay.

Russia and Brazil, as well as the United States, are among the countries that were not on the original “safe list”.

While European economies are under the influence of the coronavirus, the southern EU countries, such as Greece, Italy and Spain, are desperately seeking to attract visitors who love the sun and give life to their industries. tourist damaged.

The story continues under advertising

Coronavirus: Canada’s Best Doctor Comments on Airlines Selling Headquarters on Flights

Coronavirus: Canada’s Best Doctor Comments on Airlines Selling Headquarters on Flights

The list will serve as a recommendation to EU members, which means that they will certainly not allow access to travelers from other countries, but could potentially impose restrictions on people from the 14 countries.

EU efforts to reopen internal borders, particularly in the Schengen area to 26 countries which normally do not have border controls, have been uneven, as various countries have restricted access for certain visitors.

Coronavirus: majority of Canadians say they will wait at least 6 months to travel

Greece is imposing COVID-19 tests for arrivals from various EU countries, including France, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain, with self-isolation until the results are known.

The story continues under advertising

The Czech Republic does not allow tourists from Portugal and Sweden.

British residents can also travel to many EU countries, although non-essential travelers to Britain are required to isolate themselves for 14 days.

– With files from the Associated Press

© 2020 The Canadian Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here